How to Succeed Without Failing.

Does failure equal success?

Joy
New Writers Welcome

--

It’s common to hear self-improvement gurus yap about how you can’t succeed without failing and how failing is good because it helps you to learn, yadda, yadda.

Well, they are wrong. Or so I thought for a long time. It’s a bit more nuance than a simplified fail, learn and succeed.

You see, I have a background in healthcare and we do not believe in failing.

Sometimes failing is dumb

To say you need failure to succeed is like saying you must get lost to find your way.

No, you don’t. If you need to go somewhere, do you just set out blindly?

Nope. You get a map, or you ask for directions from someone who has been there.

That is the secret to succeeding without failing and the secret to succeeding fast. Get directions for the journey — get a mentor, read works from pioneers, and learn from others.

While business people glorify failure, many other professions such as doctors, lawyers, and engineers eschew failure. The fear of failing propels every medical student out there. I know this cause I was in those very trenches. I worked hard not to fail, at all.

My epiphany moment

--

--

Joy
New Writers Welcome

I believe YOLO, but not in the hippie dare devil kind of way, although I am a bit of a hippie on most days, and I dare to go up against my fears often.