How You Can Learn To Write Anywhere

The exact method I use to write on the go

Martina D.
New Writers Welcome

--

I used to only be able to write in silence, at my desk.

I love my desk. But reducing my writing just to there kept proving quite impractical and was throwing me backwards.

For example:

I like to spend Wednesdays working from spontaneously anywhere in London. Plus, my boyfriend spends most of every summer and autumn touring as he works in live music, and I like to go and see him in places quite a lot. I also fly at least 3 times a year to spend 2 weeks with my mum.

So I really wanted (and needed) to be able to write anywhere.

In transit. At unfamiliar desks. While my mum is chatting away.

Of course it doesn’t happen every time I try. But here’s what I’ve been doing to get better at this, and manage writing anywhere at least sometimes:

Warm up: Opening lines

I pick a topic. Then I try to write 3 variations of the first sentence, in 3 different styles.

  • 3 x funny opening line
  • 3 x hook-based opening line
  • 3 x story-type opening line, as if it was the beginning of a novel

--

--

Martina D.
New Writers Welcome

I write & publish books for print + audio. Get ready-made research into profitable Amz niches with full evidence breakdown-> https://buildmomentum.substack.com