Hunting the best app is just wasting time — trust David Allen

David Allen uses the program “eProductivity from Lotus Notes” for his notes and reminders.

Georg Plankl
New Writers Welcome
2 min readMay 29, 2024

--

Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

When I saw this in a YouTube video by Carl Pullein some time ago, I had to laugh.

The world’s leading productivity expert uses a program from 1999, whose user interface has as much charm as a vacuum cleaner. David Allen himself explains his decision: “It’s not the tool that matters, it’s the system and how you use it!”

And of course, he’s right.

I am a master at never being satisfied with the current program.

I love trying out new apps and programs, always in search of the ideal tool for my needs.

Todoist, Apple Reminders, or perhaps Google Tasks? Maybe Evernote is much better for my notes than Apple Notes. And for writing my articles, there must be a better program than Pages — surely Ulysses is worth the money.

But the perfect program doesn’t exist.

Every program has its pros and cons and is only as good as its user. For example, the topic of productivity is of enormous importance in these days. All apps and programs on this topic are good and very similar.

You just have to choose one program, master it, and stick with it.

It’s that simple.

After realizing this for myself, my productivity improved once again.

No more wasting time chasing new digital tools. I’ve stopped watching YouTube videos about calendar apps, programs for notes, or reminders. For my workflow, I’ve decided to go the simplest route. As a big Apple fan, I’ve since only used Apple’s Calendar, Notes, Reminders, and Pages. These programs don’t meet all my wishes by far.

But they are free and follow the Pareto principle:

80 percent is enough!

Did you enjoy my article, or would you like to learn more about this topic? Let me know in the comments and feel free to follow me!

georg.plankl.medium.com/subscribe

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Carl Pullein, whose video gave me the idea for this article.

https://medium.com/@carl-pullein

Thank you, Carl!

--

--

Georg Plankl
New Writers Welcome

Teacher, Dad and Digital Writer. Topics: Productivity - Time management - Fitness - Sports betting