I Am A Writer Who Doesn’t Read — This Needs To Change

Why Reading is important as a writer

Regina Eyite
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 30, 2023

--

A black woman with braids is sitting and reading a black book with a white up in her hand. Next to her is a table with a plant on top.
Photo by Alexandra Fuller on Unsplash

It was the last day of work before the Christmas holidays. The workload had calmed down and Christmas music was blazing in the office. As I slumped in my chair, I overheard my work colleagues, a woman and a man, discuss feminism.

The man believed that although feminism was needed, men and women must work together to discuss how they are both complicit in gender issues.

On the other hand, the woman’s opinion was that men feeling attacked in feminist discourse is not the same as the issues that women currently face, and shouldn’t be treated as such.

As intriguing as the debate was, I found it exhausting. I am chronically on Twitter, and this discussion happens every day.

I wanted to share my frustration with the discourse by writing an article about it.

I opened my Notes app, wrote a quick draft and sent it to my boyfriend.

“What do you think?” I texted, waiting in anticipation for his thoughts.

He said, “It feels unfinished. I feel like you wanted to say more, to allude to potential ideas and resolutions, but it kind of just ends. I want to know what your conclusions were, what the motivation behind writing this article was, and possibly, why you think the conversations are harmful.”

My partner was right. I was holding back. But for good reason.

I was not knowledgeable enough to write about this conversation. Yes, I had my political beliefs, but I have never read a book on gender. In fact, I’ve never read Karl Marx, bell hooks, Audre Lorde and other scholars on issues that mattered to me. So for me to write an article when I had not done the research would’ve been a disservice.

For a subject matter like gender, sharing an opinion is not enough. Unless it provides a different perspective, writing the article is like posting another regurgitated tweet for Black Twitter to argue about. It does not change anything.

I used to be a bookworm when I was younger. I would go to my school’s library every week to pick up a new book. I would read 100 words a day, even more, if the plot was at a high point. I moved on to reading books online and then, with the rise of social media, I stopped reading altogether.

When I started writing on Medium last year, I did not think about reading at all. My intention was to see if I could consistently write. I just wanted to create an article quickly and dish it out, to meet my weekly target.

However, as I spent today figuring out what to write and remembering the draft I never published, it made me realise that if I want to improve my craft, I need to read. Not just read the odd article on Medium, but go back to reading books.

The content that I want to create needs planning and research. I need to be convicted in expressing my opinion; it cannot be done half-heartedly. Otherwise, what would be the point?

Also, reading inspires me. It broadens my imagination and makes me want to create something beautiful. It fed my soul as a teen.

So I may not post every week, as many Medium writers encourage, but when I do publish a story, it will be worthwhile. Quality over quantity.

--

--