I Did Not Use Follow For Follow Method

It worked well for me.

Qudsia Inam
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Girl enjoying the mountain view
Photo by Vlad Bagacian on Unsplash

On June 05, 2022, my article “Two Ways to Increase Your Followers, Which One Would You Prefer?” was published on New Writers Welcome, wherein I shared the following:-

  1. My number of followers was 34 at that time.
  2. The number of stories published till then was 12.
  3. In my three weeks of experience till June 05, 2022, I found two ways to increase your followers i.e.:-
  • Follow everyone and ask them to follow you.
  • Publish your work regularly and wait for organic followers.

I chose the second method and promised to share my feedback after two weeks. So here it goes:-

I have crossed the limit of 100 followers:-

While writing this article, I have 129 followers, and I was so glad to see the number 100 that I cannot even explain. However…………

Yes, there is a “however” in this story.

Let me share the background first:-

I have been working a 9 to 5 job as a tax consultant for the last thirteen years, which I absolutely love. However, due to continuously increasing inflation, I wanted to have a separate source of income. I had delayed this thing for months rather years, due to a lack of motivation, but this time I was committed.

I started searching online, opted for a course and got to know about Medium. Content writing seemed the best option for a part time earning source. Hence, I searched for my options and realized that I enjoy writing and need a way to share my thoughts and experiences with the world.

I learned that for finding work on Upwork and similar forums, I need a profile to show a sample of my work unless I am able to get a job and for that Medium was the recommended forum. I joined Medium and fell in love with the stories being published here and also learned about Medium Partner Program and how you can earn here once you have exceeded the limit of 100 followers.

I cannot join Medium Partner Program even after having more than 100 followers:-

My journey began at Medium. I kept publishing and reading articles on Medium. Joined some publications and got encouraging feedback. While writing this article, I have published 23 articles in total, while 24th is under review of the publication.

However, after reaching the limit of 100 followers when I tried to apply for MPP, I learned that MPP is not available in Pakistan. Here is the list of countries where MPP is available:-

Screenshot taken by the Author

I can’t blame Medium for this, as this information is publicly available to everyone, so it is my fault for not doing the research beforehand. If anyone of you is also interested in joining MPP, go through the above list to avoid disappointment.

I have read in several articles that MPP is not the only option to earn money on Medium; however, I still am looking for other options but have no luck yet. If any readers can refer to some opportunities to make money, I will be grateful for the help based on my profile.

What I did to gain followers:-

Here is what I did to gain organic followers:-

  1. I have been publishing at least one article almost every day.
  2. I make sure to read at least three to five articles per day and make sure to comment on most of them. I know this is not enough. However, this is what I have been able to manage with my routine.
  3. I am reading more articles related to my niches, “Relationships, Love and Life Lessons”.
  4. I have recently started Har Narayan’s recommended “100 days straight trilogy” and today is only day six. If you want to know more about this method, check his Article. I hope it works for me.

I hope my journey can help some of you find the right path to achieve your goals, as I am still trying to find mine. Best of Luck!!!

--

--

Qudsia Inam
New Writers Welcome

I write about topics including relationships, life goals, love, friendship and self-improvement, through articles and poetry.