Anecdote — Humor

I Didn’t Recognise Him, So He Complained To The News!

An Anecdote About A Clerk and An Actor

Binky Ink Writing
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 20, 2023

--

Image by Eleatell on Pixabay.

I was working a clerk at a video rental store (back before streaming services existed). I’d been there a number of months and the policy was, if you forget your member’s card, we can enter your account with your phone number but you have to show your I.D.

There was a regular customer who came every week to rent movies for himself and his wife or for his kids. Sometimes he’d come twice a week. I was working full time so I saw him a lot.

This one time, he forgets his member’s card. So I enter his account with his phone number, as per. Reflexively, I say:

‘Do you have your I.D. with you?’

He just repeats his name.

Then, ‘Right, sorry, reflex. You come here often enough, it’s all good.’

And then, in the most insulted manner, he replies,

‘Yes, and I play in enough movies that you have on your shelves too.’

--

--