I Finished Naruto During Finals Week

Depression set in real bad

Giovanna White
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Photo by Zane Lindsay from Pexels

This was a huge mistake. I only had three days to complete all my final research papers and class exams before commencing the winter holiday season. Yet, I made the tumultuous decision of finishing the remaining last few episodes of Naruto right on the cusp of this period filled with so much school pressure. The day I watched the last episode of Naruto Shippuden (technically episode 479, which represents more of an official end to Naruto and Sasuke’s story), I was hit with conflicting emotions. They ranged from grief at having been closed off from the lives of these dear characters forever, to overwhelming gratitude for having had the opportunity to be part of their lives.

That week was full of so much chaos that I would advise against ever doing what I did. Never finish a show that you are emotionally attached to — anime shows do that to you a lot — during a time period where you have other pressing responsibilities that require your full attention. There are three main things I experienced during that time.

1. I lost the ability to concentrate on my work.

The day that I watched the last episode, I felt like one might after a really bad breakup. I couldn’t sleep, and I was overcome with depression and aching sadness. Everything felt bleak and purposeless. My schoolwork suffered because of this. For an entire day, I did absolutely nothing. Just sat in one spot for a long time, reminiscing about my favorite portions of the show. Luckily, I was able to wrap up all the important work I had to complete a few days later. But it was a struggle.

2. I spent a ton of time on YouTube.

You already know the drill. I looked up everything Naruto-related. Other peoples’ reactions to epic scenes, behind-the-scenes comic drawing processes of Naruto’s Mangaka, playlists of all theme songs and tracks, analyst breakdowns of plot twists and character developments, and so on. I was stuck in a black hole of no return. Yet, as I went through all these different videos (and let’s not also forget the dozens of articles I devoured), I started feeling a little bit better. Surely, with such a popular anime, millions of people out there probably went through this exact same thing. The withdrawal symptoms.

3. I got to know the characters more.

There are a number of characters who deeply resonated with me throughout the program. Itachi’s quiet formidability amidst crushing societal pressure, and Rock Lee’s stubborn diligence in the face of false mediocrity were some examples of traits that I saw as surprising reflections of my own life. After I finished watching Naruto, I revisited the struggles and triumphs of these characters not from the lens of a viewer, but from a philosopher, if you will. From the perspective of an outsider looking in, the internal struggles portrayed in Naruto are mirror images of what happens in our daily lives. I felt more privilege for having been immersed in this beautiful world for years, and my appreciation for the impact these characters have had upon my life knows no bounds.

Photo by Higor Hanschen on Unsplash

Naruto was the very first anime that I ever watched, and I remember feeling hesitant to watch it because I felt the animation looked too “childish.”

Boy was I wrong. I was a little late to the game, as I started the series in 2019 and only finished in 2021, but it has been one heck of a ride. The lessons I learned from the program will follow me all through my journey of life.

Finals week aside, my mourning period for the end of Naruto was worth it.

❤ As always, stay kind and curious dear friends ❤

--

--