I Have A Practical Method To Get You Better At Anything

Hope It Helps You Like It Helped Me

Abdulrazaq
New Writers Welcome
5 min readOct 17, 2022

--

Photo by Author - Made on Canva

Sometime in the last quarter of 2020, I got one of the most terrible reviews on a writing sample I sent to a prospect.

I was just starting out. It felt like I was bound to get a roller-coaster ride to $1k monthly as a writer.

Not long later, I decided to set up my Medium account and get to work.

But then, *dead silence* at every single post I created — which wasn’t much.

But it hasn’t lasted forever. In a month, I managed to acquire 71 followers on Medium (two months ago). Pretty high in my standard

And write a couple of things (not much) for clients as well.

Maybe the latter is a smaller win. Nonetheless, it was way ahead of what I started with as a writer.

With an unsteady follower increase, inbound leads (very few), and client reviews, it hasn’t been a smooth ride.

And I say this because I’m not a guru or expert at it yet. I still attempt a lot to gain inbound leads and improve my writing.

Because trust me. I’ve had bad and good reviews even while following “hacks” and all. But there are more motivational reviews than those that leave you sulking at your thought of being an expert in failure.

Sudden confession — I don’t quite believe in hacks and secrets. Because most of them are recycled information I’ve already come across, with no distinct way of telling it.

So I love practical advice and habits. Jotting down struggles and making content about the solutions (like this one). Understanding my journey, and mapping out what works.

But mostly, I find that this journey struggles are shared by thousands, if not millions of people out there.

We Are One Big Struggling Family

Well, we're still happy. But not everyone probably is.

Although, I’d love to believe that the majority are.

We face challenges and one of them is getting better at something.

There’s probably a ton of advice out there on turning the negatives into positives.

On getting better at something you love doing wholeheartedly.

But I haven’t quite put out a practical method — the practical method, that helped turn negative feedback into positive ones in my writing journey. And get better at writing.

It’s a gold mine. And much applicable in anything you do.

Ready, Set, How To Get Better At Something…

Do it a Lot

Yes, this story has been told before. Rephrased as a “hack” or “secret”, but it isn’t.

Doing something over time is one of the best forms of discipline one can develop. A fail-proof habit to becoming a master in anything.

But very few might realize it.

Unsure about the authenticity of this, here’s a test.

n' Read your blog posts from 15 months ago, and compare them with the one you wrote a few weeks back.

n' Developers aren’t left out. Review an old code from that long, and compare it with the kind of code you write now.

n' An artist? Compare your drawings & paintings over this long period.

To be honest, I had no idea what consistency means or its difficulty threshold. When everyone said to be consistent, they didn’t explain what they meant in detail.

The advice is recycled to showing up daily, doing x daily, etc.

That’s right but wrong.

Where I Draw The Line On Consistency

I don’t make daily posts where it’s too strenuous.

My consistency pattern

On Instagram lies in creating content every two days.

On LinkedIn, it’s every weekday. And the list goes on.

On Medium, I’m adopting a 3x weekly post strategy.

As a writer, I’ve found that even the simplest tasks like LinkedIn posts, Journaling, and Reading can put you ahead of most who work on resources telling them to write 2000 words daily to become a better writer.

That’s in my humblest opinion — Bullsh*t

Just like learning in school and a stressful 9–5 work, you can’t take on all that without burnout, mostly for New Writers.

Efforts over a combined time frame give splendid results. The kind we call “Compound effect” nowadays.

If 2000 words aren’t too much to handle, cool. If it is, don’t make it a priority.

The Hidden Meaning Behind “Being Consistent”

We often throw this phrase out, and the audience consumes it without a clear path on how consistency shows its face.

The first path to establishing consistency is understanding the why

n' I need to be consistent to Grow my online presence

n' I need to be consistent to get better at coding

n' I need to be consistent to get better at painting.

Establishing a why puts you ahead in your journey before the work comes in.

But mostly, establishing a reason for consistency gives you a better understanding of what you’re doing.

You can’t grow consistently doing something you hate with your guts. Why would you? Why should you?

Maybe you read a post about how a 19-year-old made $6k in a week with his online business (that you don’t fancy). Hopping on such a treadmill leaves you quitting before reasonable results start coming in.

Fitting the pieces of the puzzle on your likes makes consistency more fun and rewarding. Rather than hopping on every “money-making business” that guarantees a quick ROI — Just to Suppress your curiosity, there isn’t one.

Early success also makes consistency much easier. So hopping on the “no passion for this, but doing it” train keeps you frustrated much quicker than you might imagine.

From my perspective gained from practical experience, being consistent means showing up, doing what you love, and learning from everyone executing it too.

Final Thoughts — You Deserve This Section

It never gets old working on a passion.

Being consistent gets you better at anything.

I’ve realized, every step of the journey makes you feel better. Loving it gives you the courage to keep showing up despite what others might think, and embracing it makes you win, big time.

It sucks to see people quit before reaching their potential.

Make your time count.

Hello, Abdul here.

My goal is to keep improving in everything I do. Especially my Writing Career (Primarily, for now)

I’m on a mission to build a $1000 per month writing business online in 90–120 days as a full-timer (9–5 worker) and Prospective Student.

Sharing my insights, journey, and process with creators | writers along the way.

Watch me make it happen, and learn with me in my Weekly Saturday Newsletter (Live, Earn & Grow).

You can always follow me on LinkedIn and Instagram to get micro bits of content that helped me get started and learnings from being a creator/writer.

If you'd love to share your thoughts, please do. I will read and respond to everything 😊 🖤

--

--

Abdulrazaq
New Writers Welcome

Stories intersecting copywriting, self-growth, and mental health | Copywriter | Part-time Medium blogger