I Lost Focus In Writing Again

Only this time its a lot more interesting

Acaila Carroll
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 4, 2023

--

Photo by Lechon Kirb on Unsplash

I became obsessed with learning how to play the guitar.

My goal for writing was to be more consistent. Like writing everyday kind of consistent, but my guitar practices got in the way of that. Now, this not-so-new stringed instrument is not my top priority, although it briefly took over my life, but here are a few reasons I’m not calling my challenge of writing every day a failure.

This is my second attempt at learning the guitar

My second attempt is already more successful than the first. I didn’t make it past the first two strings during my first attempt, but now I have learned at least one note on four strings, and I am beginning to understand the concept of chords.

Also, I’ve wanted to learn to play the guitar since I was around 13. During a trip to a Guitar Center in South Jersey, I left with a guitar method teaching book for beginners but not the actual guitar. Finally, a few years ago, as an adult and after a guilt trip, my dad took me on another outing to the Guitar Center, and this time we left with an acoustic guitar. Shameful, I know. After a few lessons, however, I gave up.

I’m grateful, however, that I can still accomplish a childhood dream. During this second attempt, I realized that learning on my own was better for me. With an instructor, you go through lessons pretty quickly, and it can be hard to keep up. Going at my own pace is more enjoyable.

This is also the result of staying away from social media.

My self-taught guitar lessons are naturally taking up the time I would have spent browsing Instagram’s explore page. With friends being busy with their families and their own lives during the week, I run out of other options to replace my internet cruising cravings.

At this point in my life of gaining control, scrolling social media uncontrollably is no longer an option. I believe this is why something remarkable happened. It was as if there was this instinctive draw to pick up my guitar again. I guess you can say my brain is being rewired successfully. I pick up the guitar instead of running to my phone to cure boredom. Not a bad option.

If anyone wanted to look for suggestions on gaining control over social media, just about every article on google will tell you to get a hobby. Playing an instrument has the opposite effect of social media on me. It’s no wonder that it has been reported that too much social media can cause anxiety and depression. I’ve experienced joy and fulfillment by learning the guitar.

I am becoming more of who I was meant to be.

I did not wake up one morning and suddenly become interested in playing the guitar. I’ve had this guitar for three years, and as I’ve stated, I wanted to learn since I was a teenager.

I’ve wasted years avoiding awkward conversations with myself and others about seemingly frivolous pursuits such as learning the guitar, but now I’m naturally allowing myself to venture onto new things without thinking they are silly. Also, when I started learning the guitar, even the first time, there were no such awkward conversations. That was my subconscious throwing my insecurities back at me. If there were those awkward conversations, those would have been other people throwing their insecurities on me.

The truth is, learning the guitar is just who I am. As well as starring in the school play or joining the writing club. I didn’t neglect writing, but I put more into myself. After all, we write what we know. Now I have the guitar to add to my list.

Now back to work and the guitar.

--

--