I Quit My Job and Started To Write. Here’s 5 Things I’ve Learned So Far

Inspiration for other newbie writers

Lindsay Stockley
New Writers Welcome
4 min readFeb 25, 2022

--

I never planned to become a writer.

I quit my job to escape the career I’d been doing the past 20 years. I left the organisation because of toxic workplace culture.

I’d been riding the burnout wave for a few years. From feeling good to unmanageable stress in just a few months.

Day’s were filled with overwhelm. Night’s dominated by Insomnia. Anxiety levels would rise. Burnout crept in. I’d go on sick leave.

After a few weeks off I feel better. I’d return to work. And, the cycle repeated.

At some points, I was riding the wave. I was able to stay upright. In these moments I trained to be a coach.

After I qualified, I had clients whilst working full time. It was manageable for a short while, but a few months later, the burnout wave dragged me under again.

It took so much to make the leap and quit. I’d worked hard for a long time to build my career. But, after 3 years on the wave, enough was enough. I gave in my notice. I left my career in November 2021.

After a 3 week holiday, I thought I would get my motivation back. I planned to start hustling my coaching business.

I didn’t.

I couldn’t.

I needed a much longer break.

It took 8 weeks of no work to recover enough to make a start. It’s now been over 3 months since I quit, and I’m beginning to feel like myself again.

When I left my job I planned to do some writing as part of my coaching business. I didn’t expect to want to pursue a writing career. I never imagined that the writing part would become the focus.

I became a Medium member in May 2020. Until January this year, I had never hit publish.

Now, I write most days. When I’m not writing I’m learning about how to write better. I use social media platforms to write more. I read other writers’ work.

Writing has become part of my recovery process. It has helped me make sense of what I’ve been through. It gives me hope that sharing my experiences can help others, and I get a sense of satisfaction that I didn’t expect.

5 things I’ve learned since I started writing

1. Enjoy it

Before focusing on my own writing, I wrote business documents for my job. I’d mastered the art of bizspeak. They were very dry and boring.

But, now I can write about anything I want.

It’s so liberating!

I write about business and personal development, workplace culture, and wellbeing at work. I give tips to help business owners and workers navigate their journeys.

But, when I want to, I will write about my other passions, travelling, and creativity. The ball is in my court. If I wanted to, I could write about my sexual encounters and ex-partners. Or my crazy neighbours from hell. I probably won’t. But, the point is, I could. I can do whatever I want.

I can have fun with it.

2. Say what’s true to you

I have learned how to make my writing more personal. With each piece, my writing becomes more me.

I am developing my voice.

I have opinions about things that I didn’t know I had. Buried feelings that need unleashing.

When inspiration hits, the words pour out of me. My thoughts take shape as I type, painting a picture on the page. Telling a story.

My story.

3. Practice makes perfect (or at least it will one day!)

I have improved my writing already.

Thanks to the Hemmingway app I’ve learned about the overuse of adverbs. And, how to avoid the passive voice.

I’ve learned to write shorter sentences.

I’ve dropped those long, boring sentences I wrote in business documents. I don’t know who is more grateful for this, me or my readers.

4. Engage with the community

The content creation world is huge and booming. This is new to me.

With so many platforms, where do you start?

I’m enjoying Medium. Twitter and Linkedin are next on my list.

Before I quit my job I never used social media. I didn’t understand why people wanted to share their lives online.

Now I’m writing, something has changed. I want to share my words.

Social media gives me an outlet. An opportunity to voice my thoughts. A chance to connect with others who feel the same as me.

Engaging with online communities excites me.

5. It’s about personal growth

Most of all, I’ve learned that writing is my inspiration.

It helps me to think. It’s my healer. I make sense of my world when words spill out of me onto a page.

I can feel myself growing. Understanding myself more. Being more connected. Taking part in the world with more enthusiasm.

It’s only been a few weeks and I’ve already learned so much.

Recognising my progress spurs me on to keep going. Keep progressing.

Final thoughts

I’m at the start of my writing journey, and I know I’ve got a long way to go. But that’s ok. I’m getting a lot from it.

Remembering the following will keep me growing:

  • Enjoy it
  • Say what’s true to you
  • Practice makes perfect
  • Engage with the community
  • It’s about personal growth

We all have to start somewhere, and the most important thing is to keep moving forward.

Keep learning.

Want to gain more control over your stress levels and create more work-life balance? Download my FREE workbookImprove Your Wellbeing For Business Owners And Entrepreneurs.

Follow me for more stories, business and personal development tips.

--

--

Lindsay Stockley
New Writers Welcome

Business Coach and Blogger. Inspiring creative entrepreneurs with business management & personal development tips. https://lindsaystockley.com