I thought they had lost it

I seriously did

kjumai🥶💜☔
New Writers Welcome
3 min readMar 8, 2022

--

Photo by James Coleman from Unsplash

Today, I saw something startling. On my way to school, while sitting on the bus, I saw persons have their forehead marked.

I thought I was mistaken. I thought I probably should wear my glasses instead of holding them in my hands. I didn’t though till I got to school.

I took it as a weird happening since I only saw a person have it, the mark. She was a she. I thought okay, in this city, anything is possible. To be sincere, I thought she was a part of witchery or at worst, the priestess herself.

Yes, at this point in my life, the things I’ve seen here can be more than a lot for a lifetime. So anything’s possible.

I looked out the window again and another person followed by another and another. Okay, I thought everyone had lost it what was going on? Was I the only one who saw these? Have I suddenly gained powers? It has come to pass, my wish?

I kept shut all this while until one person who had their head marked entered the bus I was in. The person sitting beside me asked him if he hit his head on the wall. I wanted to laugh but I held it in as the thought of trying to mind my business and abstaining from mockery came through. It turned out that it wasn't witchcraft or something worse but it was a symbol of their religion.

ASH WEDNESDAY

As my teacher taught me, he made jokes and all till he got to the thing which got me all worked up and confused, the ash mark on their foreheads. He too had seen it. And as he addressed it, I came to know that it was Ash Wednesday and Catholics had to be blessed by a pastor or priest who is called the Reverend father.

Ash Wednesday symbolizes death and repentance. It is believed that that ash put on their foreheads indicates that they weep and feel guilty for their sins. The same sins that the Catholics say that Jesus Christ had died for. That Jesus Christ died for them.

Catholics fast during this period. They devote it to confessing their sins. It marks the start of the Lenten period up to Easter which is believed to be the time Jesus resurrected.

The priest as he puts the Ash on their foreheads says " Remember that you are dust and to dust, you shall return." It is not compulsory to wear the ash all day long, but some prefer doing so. Others as you have seen prefer not to.

Catholics are not allowed to eat meat on this day. It is not a symbol of the Pagan festival as the putting of Ash on their foreheads did not start until the middle ages.

One thing I have learned and hope that you learned too is to be versed in some if not all religions. I'm not saying you have to practice them. I'm saying so that to not be considered ignorant and at worst not subject worshippers to mockery.

Do have a nice day. Thank you for reading this. I want to clarify that I did not mock the religion with my word 'Witchcraft'. I deemed it strange because of the ash they had on their forehead. I deeply and sincerely apologize if it seemed that way. Please I did not intend to do that.

--

--

kjumai🥶💜☔
New Writers Welcome

A Writer, Poet and Author. Much love. ♥️ Feel free to scroll through. Instagram-@kjumai9