I’m 20 And I Crave Simple Things

The desire to lead a simple life

Rogress
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 3, 2023

--

Photo by jc dubi from Pexels

I don’t know what's happened to me since the pandemic. I actually find it funny. I feel so different now compared to what I was like before, especially the way I think. The way my mind works on stuff. I think three times my age, even having the title "craving for simple things."

I’m still in college. Perhaps you think I talked like I’ve experienced so much in life. I’m totally aware that I haven’t. It’s just that I wanted to write about this considering the year is about to end. I’m kind of reflecting on this year. And this is what I’ve realized about myself. For instance, I choose to spend time with my family, even if we’re just sitting. I became less dependent on spending my time on the phone. It’s like if we have no school, my first choice is to be outside. Lately, I always choose to sleep. Aside that I needed it, it’s what give me peace.

So basically, I prefer to live a simple life. Simple things are what really matter to me. I’m still young, and I find it weird that I’m thinking this way. And also, I finally realized that I had become more sentimental. I really value things, even nonsense conversations with my friends. I love simplicity. The simpler it is, the happier it makes me. Like things don’t have to be more. If I feel like it’s enough, it’s fine.

Craving simple things also reminds me to value the smallest things in life. No, actually, they are not small anymore because I’m continuously teaching myself to value them as much as I value big things. Like most of the time, we just celebrate if we get high grades in school. But the fact that we finished a whole week of school is also something we should be celebrating. I’m talking about school, but it’s not just about it.

It’s all about the things that happen every day. And I guess I am becoming more and more grateful. It’s not that I haven’t been grateful. It’s just that I frequently remind myself out of nowhere how to be thankful for the life that I have now.

I am not posting this for you to do the same, like crave for simple things. I just wanted to share how simple things bring genuine joy to me, and that at this age, I am able to realize this. It’s honestly amazing.

But enough of my personal cravings. Think about yours. What have you realized about yourself this year? or not specifically this year. Just the change that you experience within yourself. Perhaps you’d like to share, if you’re comfortable with it, or you’re still the same. Either way, it’s totally fine. What is important is that we respect the changes that happen within us and always choose what is going to feed our souls. That is genuine happiness.

If you find this article helpful, let me know in the comment section, or you can clap and also share. Again, thank you so much for reading.❤️

--

--

Rogress
New Writers Welcome

Learn about making sense of your feelings and other stuff ;)