I'm Starting a 30 Day Writing Challenge

I don't know if I'm ready, but what better time than now?

Kade Maijala
New Writers Welcome
2 min readDec 8, 2022

--

30 day writing challenge
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

We all like a good challenge, don't we? What about a 30-day writing challenge? Even better, a challenge that has the potential to increase your engagement tenfold. Why not give it a shot?

Let me explain this writing challenge's "what" and "why."

The Actual Challenge

Starting yesterday, technically, I will be posting these daily:

  • One blog on Medium,
  • One blog/post on LinkedIn
  • Commenting on 20 new Medium posts
  • Commenting on 20 recent LinkedIn posts

I've been writing one blog post on Medium with varying results per week. I post in the expat niche of Medium, which is smaller than many but still has readers. Yet, my posts could be better. Topics and posts I expect to perform well don't, and I've decided to try something new.

Posting more often on Medium and LinkedIn (my LinkedIn is incredibly tied in with my Medium) is a no-brainer for gaining more engagement. On the contrary, why is commenting an essential part of this challenge?

An incredibly insightful blog post by Kam Fatz inspired me for the second half of this undertaking.

After spending only a couple of weeks on Medium, in fact; I would say if you want to make good money here, you should spend about 25% of your time writing stories and about 75% of your time commenting on other people’s stories and put a primary focus on building a list while selling them low ticket through your list.

This 75% commenting is essential to support our fellow creators and increase your SEO in this niche. If your name pops up on every blog post containing the "expat" tag, then your highest-ranking page on that whole website will rise with it.

With commenting comes thoughtful reading. By reading my peers' work, commenting, and having fruitful conversations, I could learn more about our niche and writing.

After 30 Days

Each week and after 30 days, I will post a new blog detailing the results of the challenge. Increase views, comments, likes, and overall engagement on both platforms.

If you're up for a challenge, you can join me, and we will rock through this together. Don't think it's worth your or my time? Let's wait 30 days and see the results!

Are you interested in seeing the articles that would perform better? You can start with this one!

--

--