I’m Strangely Angry at My Viral Article

It’s a case of: “Be careful what you wish for”

Araci Almeida
New Writers Welcome

--

Designed with canva.com

It should be a cause for enormous celebration to see an article I wrote gain so much success, especially since, inexplicably, I wrote it in less than two or three minutes.

I remember that unusual February morning perfectly. I had a small grammar book in hand and, upon opening the refrigerator door, imagined a conversation with a friend of mine who had already died.

I remembered her and her love for the Portuguese language. I imagined telling her that I, too, albeit belatedly, had now discovered that same love. So, I began to ponder how our identities can change over time and how, even later in life, we can find other things that can brighten our souls. I wrote it almost poetically and inspiredly about loves that arrive later and settle in the soul.

That split-second thought, a burst or a strong flush of inspiration, made me rush to grab a pen and a notepad. As I sipped my coffee and chewed on delicious Portuguese bread for breakfast, I immediately and fervently wrote what was on my mind.

It was just two or three paragraphs, which, according to my mother, were magically written by two people. My mother is very mystical and believes that we somehow continue to be with the people we love when we die

--

--

Araci Almeida
New Writers Welcome

Trying to be the next Annie Ernaux but failing it every day