Impossible Imagination

Imagining the unexpected

Adedolapo Sobaloju
New Writers Welcome
2 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Photo by Ümit Yıldırım on Unsplash

I wrote this in 2013, during a time when I was deeply devoted to music. It was my refuge, and I was captivated by its rhythm. Though I wasn’t a writer then, I loved jotting down musical thoughts. Here’s my impossible imagination:

“Hey guys! Listen to this soul-lifting gospel song by DMX featuring Michael Jackson, titled ‘Jesus the Messiah.’ It’s inspirational, and it makes you want to move closer to Jesus.” At that time, I still believed Michael Jackson wasn’t dead; he was very much alive to me. Not long after, DMX also went to heaven.

This part is hilarious: How would you feel if Lil Wayne cut his hair, and removed all his tattoos and piercings? It’s impossible, right? Those are his signature looks.

How would you feel if Jay-Z rapped fluently in my local dialect (Yoruba)? It’s not possible; the man can sing anything but ‘mamarita’!

How would you feel if Jackie Chan acted in a strictly romantic movie? I’m not sure it would suit him. Have you seen it? Because I haven’t.

How would you feel if Busta Rhymes danced like Michael Jackson? All those break dances and moonwalks. Man would fall, he’s big.

How would you feel if Nicki Minaj sang a gospel song that made you want to give your life to Christ? (I guess this happened; she rapped in there, but she was featured in a Tasha Cobbs song).

This last one involves local actors from my country, well-known for their comic movies and height. They are not dwarfs but something similar. They are popularly known as Aki and Pawpaw. And then there’s a popular local actress, Mercy Johnson. She’s a curvy woman.

How would you feel if Osita Iheme (Pawpaw) and Mercy Johnson played Troy and Gabriella in the High School Musical (HSM)?

Thank you for taking the time to read this to the end. It’s just for fun. Thank you!

Dolly 🩷

--

--