Is Twitter Even Worth Staying On Anymore?

I have considered leaving the platform after many recent events but it’s still a process and not one that I’ll take lightly

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
New Writers Welcome
4 min readNov 22, 2022

--

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

“Oh, great, another Elon Musk hate story.”

I mean yes and no at the same time. I’ve already made my distaste for Elon Musk and his kind pretty apparent in previous articles expressing a distaste for multi-billionaires in general. I’m kind of happy that he was forced into a bad deal for Twitter where he overpaid in the amount of $44 billion to acquire the company.

I mean, for free speech, it’s not ideal but for making billionaires keep their promises, it’s a great move. He instantly started his reign as CEO of Twitter by firing thousands of employees and rehiring some back after they were locked out of the building and fighting with employees on Twitter itself.

He also failed at launching Twitter Blue successfully which was supposed to be a better way of handling the verification of accounts but ended up backfiring and creating numerous fake accounts. Stephen King even trolled Elon for the $8-a-month charge that he was going to charge people for verifying their accounts. Now, he seems like he has no idea or direction of where he wants to go.

He’s just picking and choosing things he wants to try. He put a public poll out to ask whether he should reinstate the former President on Twitter after he was banned for inciting violence on January 6th. The public voted yes 52–48% in favor of reinstating him. A real leader wouldn’t have needed a poll to make his decision. He would’ve just made it.

He had teased for months that he was going to bring Trump back. Now that Trump’s back, it’s more of a reason for me to want to get away from the platform. I had considered blocking him when he was on there before but I never did because I just ignored his tweets. If I stay on there now, I’ll have to block him if he actually does decide to come back. His profile is active again but he’s sticking to his own social media platform, True Social, at this point.

I just think that the gates that Elon Musk is opening up in the name of freedom of speech are going to bring up a lot of the same issues that arose when people who were able to spread misinformation were just allowed to. Elon Musk does it himself. Twitter had threatened him a few times in the past before he completely took over that he could be at risk of getting his account shut down.

Ultimately, and I’ve always believed this, he just wants a platform where he controls the messages becoming viral. This gives him a chance to silence his opponents and people who disagree with him politically. It allows him to amplify people that he admires like Kanye West and other people who constantly spread hate. Kanye is just a whole other mess and another story to boot.

He shouldn’t be allowed to go on there and spread false information either and his craziness pretty much matches the insanity that Elon is showing us. I think that this acquisition is slowly doing in his own mental health but also collapsing the platform at large.

I will try to stay on there as long as I can as I promote my stories and the stories of all of the writers in my publications in there. It’s the only thing that I find useful about Twitter these days. I even question how effective the platform actually is in promoting writing though. It’s worked for me to this point.

I just hope that Twitter, Elon Musk, and whoever else can get a grasp on what needs to be done on the social media platform. It certainly can be a great company as a privately held company. I just don’t know that Elon is the right man to be the CEO.

He could easily step into the background and actually allow someone with more experience at Twitter to take the helm and focus back on his other company, Tesla. I definitely think he's out of his element and way over his head and as I said before, people are already leaving. I might be next but if this ship can right itself, I may stick around to see what changes are to come on the social media platform.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
New Writers Welcome

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.