It’s a Bitter Sting

A Poem

Julieanna Jalbert
New Writers Welcome
Jun 27, 2024

--

Photo by Adam Wilson on Unsplash

To be a good person is a task

A chore

And so much more

It’s a hard lesson to learn

The first time you get burned

The sting drives on the hate

The words you wish you could get back

The drama that takes you off your track

I often stare at the wall in utter shame

Of the pain

I caused on others

Then I feel the sting

It pinches at the already bleeding wound

But here’s the thing,

You must extinguish the flame

Before it consumes

All the shame

And resumes

The bitter anger that you overcame

That is the key

To living life a better me

--

--

Julieanna Jalbert
New Writers Welcome

I'm a young author and poet. My passions include creative writing, reading, and gardening, while my goals are to grow my platform and share my writing.