Leave the Roots On

An Ernest Plea

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Whatever you have to say, leave the roots on.
Don’t steal from me the darkness
that gave birth to your words.

Leave the roots on, I pray.

Don’t show me the beauty of the flower
but withhold its birthplace.
Leave the roots on.

Show me the struggle of how you arrived here.
Leave the roots on.

Take my hand and guide me deep below
the freshness of your scripted story.

Leave the roots on,
I beg you.

Trust that I, too, have dwelled in the rich dark soil
hidden from the sun.

Give me the sweet gift of knowing
the pain and darkness
that grew the tender, delicate beauty
I now see in you.

Please, an earnest plea,
leave the roots on.

--

--

Paula Ekai Stephens
New Writers Welcome

Just a Buddhist in the burbs writing about life in my, not so serene, domestic monastery. Personal development, grief, wellness, bereaved mamma.