Let Us Be a Chameleon

a multicolour contradiction

Ghina Zaidi
New Writers Welcome
1 min readFeb 25, 2022

--

Photo by George Lebada from Pexels

Silent and steady waiting to hunt,

being a chameleon could be so much fun.

Waiting in the stillness,

nowhere to go.

Finding your weakness,

ready to blow.

Just one whiff of its tongue,

and you’re dead.

Changing its colours if

You’re a threat.

It watches and observes,

doesn’t say a word.

Blends in the surroundings,

it stays unheard.

Hiding and attacking

is it a spy?

Calm and unseen

is it a Dalai?

Multicoloured forever on and on,

always trying to please,

does it remember the real one,

or what colour does it bleed?

Blending where needed,

hiding where I want,

taking your colour,

we will be never poles apart.

You'll be happy to see me,

you won't know who I am,

whatever is on the inside,

you won't give a damn.

Only if a chameleon I could be,

how easy my life will become.

Thank you so much for reading this far. If you liked this poem, please support me and buy me a ko-fi here. It would mean the world to me as the MPP is not available in my country.

Connect with me on Twitter. Send your feedback.

Let’s meet on Instagram. It’s more fun. Stay connected.

--

--

Ghina Zaidi
New Writers Welcome

Multi-Passionate Freelancer! writing poems and articles about the bitter society. Optimistic, detail-oriented. Writing for the love of it.