Life: A Lesson from the Past

Well, let me tell you a story…

Devi Cadaeg
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJul 9, 2023

--

Photo by Héctor Martínez on Unsplash

From the moment we begin making our own choices and trusting our decisions in life, we are already responsible for our lives. We were already molding ourselves to the shape we wanted. It is the start of our journey to self-reliance.

Before

I used to listen to my parents ever since I was a child because a good daughter listens to her parents, right?

Compared to our neighbors who let their children play outside even after dark, I think it is stricter at home because I have to go home just before dusk. Help at home, watch anime, do homework, and then sleep.

I don’t really remember playing a lot because I’ve been a babysitter for my two younger siblings from when I was nine years old until in high school.

I Began to Do Anything I Wanted

So, guess what during college?

It was liberating…

I used to stay in the city during weekdays and sometimes go home on weekends when free. At that time, I thought:

So this is what it feels like to be away from home. You can do whatever you want and be with whoever you want.

It was indeed a new experience for me.

After college, I was so excited to go out again. I wish to explore more, so I went and planned to find a job in the metropolitan area. Unfortunately, though I did not find one around the area I was able to get a job in one of the popular cities in the country. It is much closer to home.

Made Friends and Others Like Friends

I think it all started at that time when I had a great time knowing people. My colleagues were great, jolly, and helpful. It was my first time associating with many people, who were not all close friends, but it was a good feeling.

Though the experience with these good people did not last long, it felt nice and heartwarming.

Unlike the first working environment I had, in my job, I encountered new sorts of people. I’ve learned that there are bad people who have kind faces or what they call “two-faced people”.

I remember that I always had to be friendly and outgoing, and thanks to that, I learned some social skills. But honestly, it is so tiring sometimes when it goes way over my comfort zone. As an introvert, well, I did gain skills in conversations. Thanks to my extroverted friends, not-so-close friends, colleagues, and previous romantic interests.

Was Influenced by Others

I have been with all sorts of people for years. Although I used to choose whom I wanted to get along with, there were times when I interacted with others I didn’t personally know. They were usually friends of a friend or someone who had other motives.

Back then, I once spent life after work with friends, eating outside, sometimes drinking, talking about life, and many other things that you can call enjoying one’s life.

It only lasted about two years, and it was quite a ride, coming from someone who prefers being alone.

They say birds of the same feather flock together.

There is truth in this phrase somehow, although not entirely. Why? Because I have been there. And if you know self-restraint, no matter what people around you are doing, you will realize when you will want to say no and stop.

The best advice, however, is to choose who you want to be with. It was a lesson from the past and an unforgettable one at that.

Those with like minds who want to improve on their craft, and prioritize health, and those who only want for their friends’ success and support them. There should be love and care for each other, if there isn’t, maybe you have to reconsider spending time with them.

Self-Love Matters

You heard it right, and it will always be.

Self-love matters, in times of life crisis, when you know you’re going down the wrong path, you’ll know it because of how you want to stay safe and healthy.

It is for no one’s sake but because it’s for your own sake. You make decisions in life to make you feel happy, fulfilled, and satisfied. There is nothing wrong with it.

A lesson from the past and life experience is the best educator.

--

--

Devi Cadaeg
New Writers Welcome

Self-proclaimed writer, language learner, or a hobbyist in short. Things can be tough, but it won't last forever. Choose to be happy! Me: writewithpanda.com