LinkedIn Cringe, and 3 Alternative Job Seekers Websites

Finding your next opportunity

Elena Greyrock
New Writers Welcome
3 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

· Approximately 134.5 million users use LinkedIn daily, with over 48% active monthly.
· On LinkedIn, 77 job seekers submit their applications every second.
· Every minute 6 People are hired on LinkedIn. ~ Source: Social Shepard

LinkedIn is the behemoth of online platforms for job seekers, especially as the job market becomes massively competitive.

But does LinkedIn make you cringe?

On Reddit, LinkedIn users have recently complained that the platform’s increase in personal content makes it too similar to Instagram and Facebook and, yes, at times, cringeworthy.

I want to expand my professional network, sure, but please don’t show me a photo of your dog, your Zumba class, or what you had to eat at Shake Shack in my LinkedIn feed.

I click the “celebrate” icon when LinkedIn serves up a business team’s trophy for a project well done, but please, LinkedIn, please don’t then show me a photo of someone’s trophy wife in an evening gown. If I want to get jelly I can find that on Facebook.

Was LinkedIn listening to the widespread online criticism? It recently announced that it had updated…

--

--

Elena Greyrock
New Writers Welcome

INFJ, Elena Greyrock is an author of contemporary diverse fiction. Her latest book is Six Feet Apart: Love in Quarantine www.elenagreyrock.com