Mandelbrot Fractal — the Intersection of Maths, Nature, and Art

Hunting the Hidden Dimension

Ann Rickert Leach
New Writers Welcome
2 min readSep 10, 2021

--

A portion of the Mandelbrot Fractal graphic made into a quilted wall-hanging. Wall-hanging by Becky Grover. Photo by Ann Leach.
A portion of the Mandelbrot Fractal graphic was made into a quilted wall-hanging. Wall-hanging by Becky Grover. Photo by Ann Leach.

Have you ever watched a documentary that so amazed and inspired you that you had to take action?

Now, I’m not a math genius by any means, but I do enjoy the playfulness of numbers and their relationships with each other. I enjoy listening to and watching the geniuses play with the numbers. The TV show Numb3rs? Big fan.

A few years ago when I watched Hunting the Hidden Dimension, a film about applying fractal geometry to nature, I was compelled to capture the beauty of the Mandelbrot Fractal after learning about its story and the relationship between fractal geometry and nature.

Knowing my own artistic limitations, I turned to a friend and asked her to make a quilted wall-hanging for me.

The Mandelbrot Fractal shown as a quilted wall-hanging. Wall-hanging by Becky Grover. Photo by Ann Leach.
The Mandelbrot Fractal shown here as a quilted wall-hanging. Wall-hanging by Becky Grover. Photo by Ann Leach.

Thank you to Panos Michelakis for your article Intuition Behind Complex Numbers which reminded me of the story behind my wall-hanging and inspired this article.

Thank you to my friend, Becky Grover for the amazing work you did in creating this wall-hanging for me.

--

--

Ann Rickert Leach
New Writers Welcome

Book author and article writer, Unplugged Fun owner; Outdoor & physical activity enthusiast, Living best life adventurer, Curious learner