Me? An Avid Reader?

A math geek’s transformation

Brett Millan
New Writers Welcome

--

A picture was taken by the author of the own author’s calculators

By writing on Medium, we are likely people who like to write, and hopefully, read. At the college where I work, people assume that because I teach English, I’ve always been a reader and a writer. People also think that reading and writing come easy.

For example, when I was working on my dissertation for a doctorate in Education, a now-retired administrator told me:

“Well, the doctorate will be easy for you because you’ve always loved to read and write.”

I could have picked apart all the fallacies in that statement when he said it, but instead, I just subtly reminded him that I wasn’t always a reader, nor a writer.

So, what did I like instead?

In fact, as I have written in some other articles, English was not my first language. Nevertheless, that isn’t why I didn’t like reading and writing. I didn’t like to read and write in Spanish either.

It just wasn’t “my thing,” as many of my own students like to say to me when they don’t read what I assign (and then wonder why their grades aren’t what they’d like them to be).

But it was true. I was a math and science geek. There, I admitted it, but how can I not? I am sitting here typing on my laptop while staring at my old…

--

--

Brett Millan
New Writers Welcome

I’m a curious person, who pursues different interests, from Anthropology to Writing to Education and also Business/Finance. I love to share perspectives.