My Favorite Kurt Vonnegut Quote

And a poem to go with it.

Joelle Rochkind
New Writers Welcome
1 min readOct 17, 2022

--

Candle against dark background.
Photo by Brett Sayles on Pexels.

“And I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.”

― Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

my desk is plastic
dressed up like mahogany
etchings of brown that swirl into
rings showing the age of
a fake tree

and on its right
my rolled up poster that fell from the wall
matte white dented with jarring creases
the kind that make me say
“it has character”
so I feel better
that I can’t control
imperfections

on the left
a pill bottle– Advil
to cure a head that feels like
its stuck in a washing machine
throbbing from the monotonous turmoil of what’s

straight ahead
that LCD screen
has tricked me into thinking
it’s the center of the universe
with its taunting calendar
and deadlines hung like rotten cherries

but in the middle
a wispy glow from a candle
looking like an orange tree emerging from a landscape of snow
smelling like roses brewed into sweet tea
feeling like when my sister picked me up
from the San Antonio airport
and she was holding a homemade sign.

--

--

Joelle Rochkind
New Writers Welcome

Winding words to try and understand the world a little more.