My Journey Toward Feeling Secure In My Skin

A story about facing my demons.

Maeve Keenan
New Writers Welcome
3 min readOct 31, 2022

--

I Have Hit Rock Bottom A Thousand Times.

I used to let people walk all over me. I was scared to express myself. I looked for permission from everyone besides myself.

And there is no way I’m ever going back to that place inside myself.

Don’t get me wrong. Of course, I will always still experience pain, I will always be greeted with fear, and I may have my heart broken a few more times but nothing will defeat the woman I have fought to become.

We all want to be accepted so badly. To be loved, to feel validated, to feel safe in our own skin.

But How Do We Gain Undeniable Confidence In Ourselves?

How can we feel solid and safe in who we are? So that we do not feel a need to constantly look outwards for validation?

I used to wonder what the inner work truly looked like.

I knew I wanted to take steps towards a fuller life. So, like most people, I highlighted my surface-level issues. You know, heartbreak, rejections, fears — and figured that was enough for me to get satisfying results… right?

More Fake Smiles. More Fake Growth.

But I was not honest enough with myself to see real results.

I was looking skin deep trying to change my spirit. But of course, that was never going to give me the nourishing change that I was seeking.

I was striving for love, trying to re-invent my identity by chasing traits that would be accepted by society. I went no deeper than that.

I did not realize that surface-level revelation would only produce surface-level results.

Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

I Realized The Real Work Begins With Shedding Layers Of Yourself.

The real results come when you successfully reveal who YOU are underneath the standards of society.

Removing anything that does not serve you anymore so that there are no more blocks in the way.

Shedding the layers of insecurities, past heartbreak, familial dysfunction, and dead friendships. Shed them until you get a feeling of wholeness. Of peace. Of completion.

A year of growth does not look like perfect skin, luxury, or flashy travel. It looks like a runny nose and tears hunched over your journal, facing your deepest fears, your wounds, and your most vulnerable self.

It is actively choosing to let your triggers crack you open. Creating space for a new life to be born.

I love to connect with humans through my words, if you found any value in my articles you can buy me a coffee and make my day!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/mkeenaeI

--

--

Maeve Keenan
New Writers Welcome

I help you build psychological and spiritual health. Turning pain into power and words into medicine.💙