My Weight Loss Journey: My 3 Big Mistakes

Don't make the mistakes I did in my weight loss journey!

Sonal Gadkar
New Writers Welcome
7 min readOct 9, 2022

--

Image by Total Weight on Unsplash

In my earlier article, I discussed how YouTube and BollyX played a pivotal role in aiding my weight loss. Over 14 months, I lost 45 pounds!

Sounds amazing right?

But here’s where I went wrong.

It took one day for me to realize that I wanted to lose weight.

Hold yourself responsible

It took one day for me to decide that I wanted to lose weight.

O​k, actually it was a series of events but the decision was like a flip of the switch on a Wednesday. So technically one day right? Semantics, I know.

I was ready to take the plunge into my weight loss journey. Having the right mindset is very important when starting. I know how lazy I can be, so I wanted to hold myself responsible. I didn’t want to make any excuses.

I told my best friend and my parents that I’m going to change my lifestyle and lose weight. I’m going to change my diet and chalk out an exercise routine. It’s important to have the right support. Involve your friends in your journey because, who knows, maybe they’re waiting for the same push!

I had so many ideas in my head about how to begin that I wasted a few days just thinking about it. If you want to make a change in your life, be proactive. You don’t want to waste time just thinking about the “what if’s” and “this is how things will look in the future.” Take initiative and start!

​And most importantly, remember you’re doing this for yourself. You’re losing weight because you want to change, not because of someone else.

Consult a Doctor

As I mentioned earlier, BollyX and YouTube played pivotal roles in aiding my weight loss. But before I started anything, I knew I needed to research the best ways to lose weight. Remember you don’t want to look for a quick fix. Losing weight is a lifestyle change. It’s not something that happens overnight. The internet is your friend, but it’s not the know-all-end-all when it comes to information.

YouTube is an amazing site to find information on just about anything. There are many videos and shorts on weight loss and the best ways to achieve your dream body. I watched videos, read articles, and in the end wound up overwhelmed. Mistake Number 1. I only used whatever I read online to implement changes in my lifestyle. Why is this wrong?

Low carbs, high protein, high fiber, low sugar — the list is endless. I read so many articles and most of them contradicted the other. So based on what I read, I decided I would do high protein and fiber in my diet.

A couple of videos discussed intermittent fasting. Without realizing it, I’ve already been following intermittent fasting as a lifestyle, but I decided to push it up a notch. Most people settle for the 16:8 approach which gives you 16 hours to fast and 8 to eat. I chose 20:4.

Don’t judge me now.

Consult a doctor. Talk to someone knowledgeable about weight loss and the proper diet. I’ll chat about my diet in a bit but learn from me. If you want to lose weight and keep it off, talk to your doctor or nutritionist and describe your weight loss goals.

Choose a practical workout routine

After calling myself an expert on weight loss, I put together a daily routine.

My initial routine was 4 hours.

You read that correctly. 4 hours of workout.

During the first few weeks, I noticed that I lost a pound to two pounds a week. Yay! It’s working!

I continued this routine for 6 months and started to feel burnt out. I started my workout on an empty stomach, with only a shot of espresso. Note, this isn’t a bad idea. Some people feel the need to eat breakfast and work out. That didn’t work for me. It depends on the person but again, do what works for you and please consult a doctor first.

I would have about an hour or so left of my fasting to continue with when I would begin my routine. I started with an hour of dance cardio. If you’re not familiar with BollyX I strongly suggest you browse through their playlist. If you love to dance and love Bollywood music, then you’ll love BollyX.

After BollyX, I turned to Jo and her “Torch in 10” videos. I followed her full body cardio, arms, and abs video which all involved using weights. This is my favorite part of the routine. There’s something about weights that brings a smile to my face.

By the time I finish with the videos, it’s time to break my fast. I’d have a Vega Protein bar and some fruit.

Next, a 4-mile walk!

Image by Sports lab on Unsplash

Mistake Number 2. To lose weight effectively, there is no need to be spending more than half the day in the gym. It’s great to work out for about an hour a day. If you have more time, then do more! But the idea isn’t to work your body to the bone. After my routine, I would have no energy to do anything else. It’s good to be active but don’t do what I did.

Did it work? Sure! I was losing weight. Was it smart? Practical? Nope. Who has 4 hours a day to work out? Is it sustainable? Can you do this daily? No. Find a workout routine you enjoy. Stick to it. Change it up if you get bored. If you feel the need to get up and do something because you’re bored, go for it! Don’t push yourself to do something because you feel you need to work out every minute of the day. You don’t!

Incorporate exercise into your life slowly. If it’s raining outside and you enjoy a good run as your workout, use the stairs in your house instead. If the grocery store is close by, walk, instead of driving your car. If you like window shopping, go for a walk in the mall! It’s amazing how many people I see at the mall, in their workout gear, speed-walking through it.

Weight Loss is about your diet

Believe it or not, weight loss is more about what you eat as opposed to how much you work out. I touched base on this idea in my earlier article as well. Workouts are important in increasing your immunity, building muscle, and staying fit. But your diet will influence everything else, especially the results of your workouts.

Along with my intermittent fasting routine, I count calories. I know the jury is out on counting calories but with some people, including me, it helps to keep a journal or a log of what I eat daily. I’m very neurotic about how I do certain things so calorie counting keeps me in check and I know I can’t cheat the numbers. Does it work for everyone? No. Is it necessary? That will depend on you.

I’m an emotional eater. I know that my willpower when it comes to food is almost non-existent. So, for someone like me, calorie counting helps. If you’re a healthier eater, it might not be necessary.

To lose weight, you need to be in a calorie deficit. What’s a calorie deficit? It’s the number of calories you need remaining from your day-to-day allowance to lose weight.

As simply explained in an article by Gavin Van De Walle on Healthline, most people use 500 calories as a deficit and prove it’s effective in aiding their weight loss.

Image by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

When I first started, I would only eat a single meal, that was too high in calories. I would break my fast with a 300-calorie or less “meal” and stay hydrated the rest of the day. About an hour before my fast would begin, I’d prepare a heavy meal, around 800 calories. My daily intake was about 1,100 calories and my workouts would cause me to burn over 1,000.

While this sounds great, it’s not practical, and not healthy. You need calories to lose weight. I know that sounds counterproductive but it’s true. Your body can’t go through a rigorous workout without the proper caloric intake. It just won’t have the energy for it. Mistake number 3.

It’s not just about the calories either. Many people calculate macros or carbs, protein, and fat. I never did that only because I was ignorant of it. There are lots of apps you can download if calculating macros is your thing.

What I’ve learned is portion control. Do I still fast? Sure! But I make sure I’m aware of the calories that I consume. That doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy a good burger and fries. I do! But it’s all about the balance. The calories I burn and the calorie deficit that I maintain are just numbers that I keep in the back of my head. For me, a good workout and nutritious food after, has made my weight loss journey less stressful.

While my old routine worked effectively, it was not practical. I would find excuses not to wake up and work out. I would justify my cheat meals. Once you start on this road it’s hard to come back on track. I knew I needed to go back and figure out what I was doing wrong. If you take anything away from my experience, it should be about listening to your body.

Find some sort of activity that makes you excited! Find something active to do for at least 30–45 minutes a day. Balance your diet. Stay hydrated and I promise you, slow and steady win the race. This isn’t advice to crash diet and lose 20 pounds in two weeks. If you want to lose weight and keep it off, trust me, learn from my experience. You won’t regret it. Good luck on your journey! I know you can do it!

--

--