New Writers Welcome BootCamp Week 28. Side Leg Holds

A lazy exercise that works your legs and core

Andrey Pilipets
New Writers Welcome

--

A drawing compass
A drawing compass. Wikipedia Commons

I used to hate drawing at school. It looked like a complete waste of time to me. Why bother drawing exact shapes when you could easily do it on a computer? I made a great effort to do a drawing homework assignment once. Two hours of hard work on a piece of paper. I brought it to my father for judgement. He studied it and said it was 1mm wrong. I ran out of patience back then. I had the lowest grade for the drawing subject at school.

People change over time. I could call myself a man of patience today. I’m also a fitness guy. That means taking a longer path. I walk, run or cycle instead of taking a car whenever I can. I stand when I work instead of sitting. All these things feel normal to me.

The longer way could be harder. Yet it makes you stronger.

I learned today’s exercise when I started martial arts. We did a front standing version of it. It looked super easy, until you started doing it. Every second the leg felt heavier. We stood with our backs close to the wall. We could lean on it to hold a few more seconds. It’s amazing how this simple bodyweight exercise can make you feel.

What are we doing today?

--

--

Andrey Pilipets
New Writers Welcome

I’m a passionate online personal trainer for 10+ years. I love to create new exercises to serve my clients the best possible way.