No One Wanted to Give Me a Job

So I Gave Myself a Job.

Snehamorey
New Writers Welcome
2 min readOct 2, 2022

--

Picture from my personal archive.

“We regret to inform you that we will not be going forward with your application…"

*Sigh*

I was tired of reading these emails. I was either overqualified or overqualified for the job; it was understandable when I wasn't qualified. But companies out there are looking for candidates who can be exploited. Harsh truth. An entry-level position needs experienced people so that these companies can underpay and overload them with work. It is more shocking when an intern position requires a candidate to be experienced, and some don't offer a stipend either.

The job hunt had been tiresome, so I decided to take a break and take some online courses to upscale my skills. And then, it was decided that I would give myself a job. I will create content. Experiment. I commissioned myself with a few tasks :

  • Start writing on LinkedIn.
  • Keep writing on Medium.
  • Start networking on LinkedIn and Medium.
  • I signed up on Twitter. I would start posting there as well.
  • Learn from the experts. Go through their content, what they write and how they write.
  • I am yet to plan on my Instagram feed content but I’m almost there.
  • Learn a skill or language or take up relevant courses.
  • Lastly, build a good portfolio. Create a website, and update my resume.

I did get my first content writing gig, though; that’s a story for another time. Most importantly, if you keep creating content consistently, you’ll get an outcome and trust the process. Set up a workstation and work like you are at an actual job. But work for yourself this time if you want to do something of your own.

--

--