Numbers

The numbers of my life

Maevs
New Writers Welcome
Feb 5, 2022

--

photo by Nick Hillier

I was 18 when I was in my first relationship
and 19 when I let our breakup define me
20 when I realized my love sees past gender
And 23 when I finally put the past behind me

I stood in place for 2–3 more years
While I figured out my next move
I tried breaking down invisible walls
Having everything and nothing to prove

At 25 I had to decide
What’s really good for me
All feelings aside, pushing down my pride
I got rid of all the toxicity

I’m 27 now and pretty proud
Of how far I’ve come
I’m accepting that change is constant
And my growth will never be done.

--

--

Maevs
New Writers Welcome

Hey! I’m Maeva, from the beautiful islands of Los Angeles, and I’m coming to the end of my 20’s. Here to share my creative writing and poetry.