Out With the 2021 and in With the 2022 — New Writers Welcome-January Competition

My biggest takeaway from 2021 and how it motivates my 2022 outlook

Daniela Nair
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 25, 2022

--

Photo by Mark Duffel on Unsplash

The year 2021 has been a bumpy ride for many due to the global pandemic in terms of social distancing, job adjustments, losing loved ones, etc. It has also given us time to reflect, relax and come up with resolutions for the new year.

The biggest lesson that I have learnt in 2021

Time goes by so quickly. This year was my final year of studying through business school and, I now find myself a 2021 commerce graduate without even setting foot on campus the entire year. All lectures were conducted online as well as examinations. I have actually been deprived of the “campus experience” for 2 out of my 3 years of studying due to the pandemic. I have not seen so many of my friends and I now seem to be even more of an introvert than I already was.

All of this free time in between studying throughout the year has allowed me to reflect on my strengths and weaknesses in relation to time.

So, I am a pretty laidback kind of person and everyone tells me that I am slow in almost everything that I do (it is true) and that I have a habit of procrastinating. I am not the typical 21 year old and I have always struggled to find a way to do what I love and make it work for me too. I love writing, reading, baking, cooking, painting and gardening. This year got me thinking “How is this newly commerce graduate going to use her strengths to make 2022 her year?”

My 2022 New Years Resolution

There is a little snow globe kind of thing on my bedroom desk and along with 2021 it has inspired my 2022 resolution. The text printed within the glass reads…

“Do what you love and a lot of it”

I have it on my desk for the last couple of years and I think that it is time I pay heed to the forever reminder that I placed on my desk. For 2022, I plan to overcome my weaknesses whilst making use of my strengths and making what I love work for me. So, until I can find a job in South Africa’s competitive job market, I intend on kickstarting my home bakery business and will continue to write on Medium and work towards becoming a paid Medium writer through providing useful and interesting content. This is one way of doing what I love and making it work for me.

Medium has been a great safe place for me to be the best version of me and the following Medium writers have welcomed me with open arms and inspired me to provide content that is relevant all whilst staying true to myself:

Remember that the best resolutions are realistic, timely and challenging.

--

--