Pro Athlete Shocked By My Grandma

What Happened When a Pittsburgh Steeler Visited Her Hospital Room.

Mark Suroviec, M.Ed.
New Writers Welcome

--

Bernice Fryer. Photo by Author.

My grandmother is 101 years young.

As a kid, I made the mistake of calling her old. She said the exact words for every birthday in the last thirty years with a light Oklahoma drawl.

Grandma : “Mark, Do you think I’m old? That’s not old. 100 is old!”

She would reference Willard Scott or Al Roker interviewing 100-year-olds before giving the weather report. Now when I remind her of the age-defying quotes, she chuckles and smiles at me. For as long as I can remember, she seemed frozen in time, unaffected by the pitfalls of aging. Her depression-era work ethic never seemed to run out of energy. She riveted steel in an aircraft factory during WW2. Every thanksgiving, she bakes pumpkin, pecan, and lemon meringue pies, even if it’s only my mom and brother sharing the meal that year. She still lives in her own home, and my mom can barely keep up with her pace of activity.

Rosie the Riveter. Image by PublicDomainPictures from Pixabay

A few weeks ago, she fell and broke her hip.

--

--

Mark Suroviec, M.Ed.
New Writers Welcome

Ambassador of Fun | Top Writer in Satire | Sucks at Twitter @workplaysol | Game-Maker-Upper | Owner, WorkPlay Solutions.