Reading Is the Best Way to Master a New Language

How reading books made me fluent in English.

Aarati Ghimire
New Writers Welcome
2 min readJun 1, 2024

--

Photo by Eliott Reyna on Unsplash

You have learned everything to improve your English, but when it comes to speaking fluently you are still uncomfortable with the Language.

Two years ago I was in the same situation. I have had so many embarrassing and awkward situations because of my English. But now I am a completely different person and can speak English fluently like my mother tongue.

For a few days, I have been thinking about what accelerated my improvement in English so fast.

At the end of the COVID-19 lockdown, I started with something new. I got into books. As there are not many books written in my native language I started reading in English because there are so many options you can choose from. I started reading them, although I could only understand 30%. I had to look for words in the dictionary for every sentence. But I still didn’t stop. There was something about reading that got me so hooked. I discovered some great writers in the last three years and read about 15 or 20 books per year.

Read a thousand books and your words will flow like a. river. ~ Virginia Woolf.

Books are a treasure trove of knowledge. They allow readers to learn about new subjects, explore different perspectives, and gain insights into various aspects of life. Reading books enhances language skills and improves communication abilities. It exposes readers to new vocabulary, styles of writing, and modes of expression.

Now I am learning German, I am already at a C1 level(based on CEFR). I have been able to do well in every language test, but when it comes to speaking and being comfortable in the language I still have so many problems. I have also started reading books in German and since then I have been more comfortable with the language.

Although things like learning grammar intensively, making flashcards for vocabulary, and speaking to yourself, etc. etc. are the key factors to help you learn a new language at first, they will not make you fluent and able to talk like a native speaker. Reading will help you become more comfortable with the language.

--

--

Aarati Ghimire
New Writers Welcome

I write about learning languages, science, books , movies and many more .