Writing | Simily

Simily Just Showed Its True Color Right After I Posted My First Story

If you’re planning to shift to Simily, You need to know this first

Shaqib Akram
New Writers Welcome
4 min readAug 15, 2022

--

Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

I believe you guys already know what Simily is, Right? Never mind, I’ll still explain it (stubbornness). So, Simily.co is a self-publishing writing platform similar to Medium and Vocal where writers can publish their articles and stories and get paid for it.

Simily pays writers via PayPal, meaning almost every writer can make money through it, and they pay you $0.02 (Oh! Goodness) per every unique view your article gets. Isn’t it cool? It is no more!

In simple words, Simily was like an angel sent from above for writers in non-stripe countries, as Medium and Vocal are still sticking only to Stripe.

But until this new feature update came into existence (Friday), everything for me had changed before it even started. Now I feel like it’s not about Simily, Medium, or Vocal anymore but rather about being unlucky sometimes.

Period in life. 😑

Okay, let me now tell you what actually is the new update from Simily.

The New Simily Feature

Irritated. Don’t wanna write anymore. So copied from Simily.

Updates from the Simily Founders 🙂

Friday August 12, 2022

New Simily Sign-In Update

To our fellow Similians!

We are excited to announce that we have taken the next step in evolving the Simily platform!

What is the Change? External viewers will be prompted to login to read stories on Simily. Views from readers on a free membership will still count as paid views.

Screenshot from author’s Simily profile

You see, Simily has made it very clear every time you click on whatever Simily link, it will take you to its membership page and ask you to sign up for an account first.

Oh! Great, What good business tactics to grow, I must say. I’ll not be surprised if Simily too adds Stripe as its payment mode in the future. 😐

Bull’s eye Simily.

My Personal Opinion on It

In short, Simily showed its true color.

Of Course! I shifted to this platform only because it allows writers to earn a few bucks (quite easily) with views from all sources. Whether it comes from internal or external, both views counted as paid views until this new miserable feature update.

Perhaps I think I’m too late to be on Simily.

Now, the thing is, you won’t be able to read stories on Simily until you make an account on it. Very nice! 😂

Imagine you opened a browser, typed a keyword, and luckily a Simily article appeared on the top result, but you won’t be able to open and view it unless you already have an account.

Wow, why Simily? I’m confused. Why would anyone want to make an account just to read an article? Instead, when they can go for other article sources. At least, I will do the same.

What Is It To Be Unlucky?

Photo by Andika Christian on Unsplash

If someone ever asks you, what is being unlucky? You can say that Being unlucky is known as

. 😑

I’ll tell you, why? Simily.co came into existence in 2021. Since then, they have encouraged all the writers on the platform to make some extra bucks by writing and sharing their stories everywhere. Of Course, many of you must have made quite a good amount, didn’t you? But, when I decided to make myself a little, Simily changed its feature to only internal paid views. Nice, very nice!

While they say, “your luck is sleeping.” I suppose, mine is in Coma. 😣

Too Unfair? I know, hard luck Shaqib, hard luck!

I published my first story on Simily on August 12th in the evening may be and started sharing it with the community of Simily writers, especially outside of Simily, to reach the external audience. And within a few hours of posting my story, Simily blocked the article from getting views from external sources.

Fuck, it’s too soon. I was confused about whether to laugh or get raged.

And now Simily wants me to make money from its internal source only where out of 4583 total followers (increasing), I see barely 4–5 active ones (including me) at a time. What good amount are they gonna help me make parallel to what it was like when Simily allowed external views too?

Dafuq is this Simily? 😕 What in this world made you be in vengeance with me? 😂 I mean, you should have waited for me to make my first 1000 dollars, at least.

Hey trickster, I will never forgive you for making this change that too when I was about to get rich. 🙂 But I’m substantial enough to move on.

Thank you, Medium, for making me realize that you’re my family.

PS — No grudges, no hard feelings. Peace! ✌️

What do you think about this new Simily feature? Will it benefit the writers somehow, or it’s just time to say goodbye to Simily? Do comment down!

If you had fun reading this piece, you can give it a clap and follow me here to read more of them, and don’t forget to show your love & support by buying me a chai.

--

--

Shaqib Akram
New Writers Welcome

Digital Marketer | Freelance Writer | Stripe doesn't want me to become rich | Thence show your support through https://www.buymeacoffee.com/ShaqibAkram