Routine

Skip the Morning Routine, and Start Working? Here’s Why This Advice Doesn’t Work

Can a day that starts in a rush ever be truly productive?

Devansh Tomar
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Oveth Martinez on Unsplash

Morning routines don’t work; they are a waste of time.

You must have experienced this or read about this raging conversation somewhere.

Yes, it’s true — it doesn’t work!

I promise it won’t ever work for you if you try to do something just because you saw someone else do it.

You tried to follow a routine, most probably out of influence.

It looked fancy, influential, and productive just because your favourite YouTuber told you to do it, a wealthy businessman was doing it, or your friend recommended it. You saw that they were doing it and benefiting, so you started.

I get it. You probably hate doing your morning routine, and it’s because you tried doing something that wasn’t meant for you.

What was your reason for ever trying a morning routine?

The majority of people who quit and blame the process are those who did it with any such influence without truly understanding what suits them.

Then they come up with statements like, “Morning routines are bullshit and a waste of time!”

People believe that instead of doing such routines, they should use that time to do their work. Doing a morning routine takes away a precious part of your life.

Yes, it will be a waste of time if you do it without understanding yourself.

So stop copying others’ routines. It might be working well for them, but it isn’t guaranteed to work for you as well. I made the same mistake a few years ago. I tried to implement the routine that other people were doing. I thought if it was working for them, it would work for me too.

Was I most productive? Heck no!

Instead, I felt burnt out, tired, and even more anxious.

So what? I tried another routine, and I couldn’t do it either.

Does that mean routines are stupid?

Definitely not, but I was. I tried to do something that wasn’t meant for me. It all looks cool and productive until you know that there ain’t any universal routine that fits all.

If you see a routine, get inspired and try to emulate it. You don’t understand that behind designing such schedules, there is a lifestyle that plays a big role. As each of us is unique, so are our lifestyles.

A wealthy man with time freedom can start his day with red light therapy, meditation, a workout, and a sauna, which takes around 2 hours each morning. But a person who has to reach his desk by 9 a.m. cannot do this; he doesn’t have that time freedom.

How do you find your perfect routine?

You have to know how much time you can dedicate every day.

Try filling that time with habits that bring joy and peace to you. It can be for 20, 30, or 45 minutes — whatever time you decide is good. Just fill that time with your specific activity.

For instance, my routine is 45 minutes long; it’s not as cool, but it works for me, and this is the purpose of building a routine.

My morning is simple; it starts with getting fresh, praying, meditating for 15 minutes, preparing coffee, and starting work. That’s it. You can try different routines and see what suits you; it doesn’t have to be this.

I can’t start my day just by getting out of bed, drinking coffee, and starting to work. I prefer to have my morning slow; a little time — even a few minutes for myself — gives me a head start and gives my brain the creative power to process the day ahead.

This works for me; you have to find what works for you. Don’t listen to people shouting on the internet, claiming it’s stupid.

The same diet won’t work for everyone, right? Routines work the same way. The morning routine is a diet for your mind, and it can’t be the same as other diets. We’re built differently, and so should our schedules.

Routines are healthy when customized intentionally for your needs.

Why should you care to have a morning routine?

Can a day that starts in a rush ever be truly productive?

You’re doing yourself no good by waking up and getting straight to work.

Your whole day is constantly filled with hopping from one task to another. You meet people, do house chores, and everything else. How much time do you often take out during the day to sit, relax, and do nothing?

That becomes impossible all day long.

A structured morning routine is important as it sets the tone for a productive day

You can have time for yourself without interruption and do things for yourself. Use that golden hour of the day with your whole consciousness. The first few minutes after waking up are for oiling your mind.

It prepares the mind for optimal performance throughout the day.

The way you start your morning influences your entire day.

The goal of the routine is to set yourself in motion for the day by preparing your mind with slow and intentional actions.

If any routine doesn’t fulfil this need, then change it; you’ve no obligation to stick with it.

What next?

I’m a new writer here. If you liked and found value, you also love my other articles- So go ahead and click here to follow. I promise it will be worth your time.

--

--

Devansh Tomar
New Writers Welcome

Engineer turned philosophy student • I write about self-mastery, Inner potential, spirituality & everything I learn while navigating life's depth.