Sleeping 8 Hours Every Night Helped Me Lose 20 Pounds

I’ve gone from night owl to bed by 10, and was surprised at the benefits.

Jamie Alvarenga
New Writers Welcome
4 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Gregory Pappas via Unsplash

Whooo whooo. Resident night owl here to make an announcement: I’m retiring.

I’ve put in my time and it’s been a good run. I’ve been night owl-ing for nearly 20 years, ever since college. Going from my humble hometown to a crazy campus, I didn’t want to waste my new-found freedom on sleep. Some nights, I never even met the Sandman, and I’d stroll into an 8am class like a zen zombie.

I thought I’d get more sleep after college. I moved in with my boyfriend and it felt like a very grownup situation, but, then came Netflix. Suddenly, we weren’t just streaming movies, but rather entire series all at once. “Just one more episode,” I’d beg as the time approached 1 am.

Michelen Studios via Unsplash

“What a cliffhanger! We can’t stop watching now!” So we would keep watching, and watching, and watching. We had weekends off from work and didn’t have kids, so why not enjoy late night binging?

Years later, we got married and had a kid. Once again we were up all night, but for different reasons. Late night feedings, diaper changes, or simple soothing had us begging for the sleep we previously took for granted.

Eventually our daughter started sleeping through the night, but did we finally sleep? NO! Instead, we stayed up late to regain the personal time we no longer had during the day. It makes zero sense, but parents reading this may understand. At night, it’s goodbye to Cocomelon and hello to true crime shows, and that’s worth staying up late for.

Unfortunately the longer you’re awake, the hungrier you become. Late-night snacking was all fun and games when I was in my 20s, but now in my 30s, it has consequences.

Shreyak Singh via Unsplash

And of course I don’t crave carrot sticks at midnight. I want something sweet, preferably something chocolatey. Midnight snacks are comforting for a moment, but the next day I’m left with a stomachache, low energy, and of course… weight gain.

Another drawback of staying up late in my 30s is pain. If I accidentally fall asleep on the couch during a late night, I’m left with back pain, neck pain, shoulder pain… you name it. Couch sleep is not good sleep. After feeling like I was hit by a bus one morning, I finally decided to work on my sleep.

I now go to bed by 10pm, which still gives me time to watch one, maybe two, shows in the evening. I sleep in a proper bed, turn on the ceiling fan, and even use a sound machine. I didn’t know what to expect from starting this new sleep ritual, but it’s had surprising benefits.

How 8 hours of sleep changed my life for the better:

Kinga Howard via Unsplash
  1. More energy

I used to wake up every morning after 4–5 hours of sleep and hit the snooze button several times. I’d also crave a nap every afternoon, which would take time away from other essential tasks. Now after getting at least 8 hours of sleep every night, I awake feeling well-rested and looking forward to diving into the day.

2. More focus

Speaking of diving into the day, my head feels clearer than it has the last several years. I still get brain fog now and then, but it’s rare, and I’m now able to focus on what needs done. In fact, I now want to get things done.

3. Weight loss

I’ve lost 20 pounds over the last three months! I will admit that I started my better sleep routine mid-January, once the holiday treats weren’t around anymore — that helped. I also attempted to eat healthier, but wasn’t too strict about that part. I was however, strict about my new bedtime. Going to bed earlier helped me avoid late-night snacking. And since more sleep gave me more energy, I wasn’t craving carbs and sugar to stay awake during the day.

4. Less body pain

After sleeping for at least 8 hours in a proper bed, I have less pain when waking up. I’ve also had fewer migraines. Could these things be attributed to better sleep? I believe so. I’m in my late 30s and know that body aches will just get worse with age, so any little thing I can do to help is worth the effort.

I plan to continue with my new sleep routine and hope to see even more benefits. What are some things you’ve noticed about your body when getting more, or less, sleep? I’d love to read your thoughts below.

For more stories about health, life, parenting, humor, and more, follow me on Medium!

--

--

Jamie Alvarenga
New Writers Welcome

Top writer in Journalism sharing stories about writing, life lessons, humor, and more.