Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants: Your Key To Sure Success On Medium

Berthran Benaiah
New Writers Welcome
2 min readNov 26, 2021

Are you a new writer on Medium? Are you unsure about what works?

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I totally know how that feels.

It’s been 34 days since I resurfaced on Medium after temporarily giving up for 556 days.

When I made my first story in May 2020 during the pandemic, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to achieve.

My friend, Fidelis, suggested I give blogging a try, and I promised him I’d look into it.

I stumbled on Medium and a few days later, I hit publish on my first story.

I survived the first three days or so, during which I mustered enough fear and discouragement to give up.

I was scared, frustrated and confused.

So, I gave up.

I’d managed to write a total of 1 publication.

In this time away, I have grown so much. I have a clearer picture of my purpose and passion.

I better understand how this thing called life works.

I returned on the 22nd of October, 2021.

And this time, I understand better

Who I am. What I want. Why I want what I want.

The “How?” has been the grey area for me.

Well, until I stumbled on the stories of amazing writers like Anthony Moore, Robert Ralph, Jameson Steward, Nicolas Cole and Kristina God.

There are honestly so many others, but I cannot mention all of them.

Reading their stories, as a new writer, has and still is, changing my mindset remarkably.

I’m learning to stand on the shoulders of giants, and I am slowly but surely finding my way.

If we will see beyond our doubts, confusions and disappointments, it will be by standing on the shoulders of giants.

This applies not only to writing, but life in its entirety.

What giants have been and are still guiding lights to you on this journey? Mention them in the comments.

--

--

Berthran Benaiah
New Writers Welcome

Writing coach | Top Writer | Growth Enthusiast | Unorthodox Thinker