Stress Relief In 5 Minutes?

The yoga pose that everyone should know about

Tammy Weiker
New Writers Welcome
3 min readAug 17, 2022

--

Photo by Moodywalk on Unsplash

Simply put, stress is a literal drag on the mind and body. Lately, I have been under quite a bit more stress than normal, and it is beginning to take a toll on my body. Most notably, I’ve had tension headaches almost every day, I am clenching my jaw when I sleep, I’m irritable and no fun to be around. Though I am working to resolve some of the causes of my stress, I needed to find a way to help relieve some of it now. So, I turned to the internet in search of a way to help my body cope.

I came across several articles that talked about the yoga pose called Viparita Karani or better known as Legs Up the Wall. Every article talked about how great it is and how it can not only help relieve stress but has several other physical and mental perks. I’ll be honest and tell you that I am not a very active person in terms of exercise and I have only done yoga once. I know, I know. That’s not a good thing. I’m working on that too. At this point, I’m willing to try just about anything to help me get through the day, so I read through the very simple directions and went for it.

With three rambunctious kids at home, there aren’t any quiet spots to be found so I invited them to try it with me. This also made sure that I would not end up at the bottom of a dog pile because somehow mom getting on the floor for any reason is clearly grounds for all kinds of shenanigans. We lined up against the dining room wall and got into position. I set a timer, closed my eyes, tuned out the giggle party next to me, and just melted into the floor. It. Was. Awesome. Now, not everyone will share the same enthusiasm for it, but I highly recommend giving it a try.

Before the timer went off, the headache that I had when I started was actually gone as was the tension in my shoulders. Was this the pose itself or was it because I had taken the time to allow my body to relax? I’m not sure. What I can say is that I will continue to do this every day.

If you would like to try this for yourself; here’s what you do”

  1. Sit on the floor with your side against the wall. Slowly lower yourself to lay on your side. Then, roll to your back bringing your legs up the wall as you go.
  2. Get yourself comfortable by scooting your bottom either closer or a bit further away. It is okay if you are not completely touching it.
  3. Find a comfortable placement for your arms. It was suggested to put them at your sides with palms up, but I chose to put them above my head. After that, you just allow your body to relax.

*The recommended time is at least 3 minutes, but you can go as long as you wish. I did 5 minutes.

4. When you are done, bend your knees and gently roll to your side. Slowly come to a seated position. Take your time to allow blood flow to redistribute evenly before standing up.

*If you need to, you can add a blanket or some kind of cushion under your hips and neck for more comfort.

*If you are unable to use the wall for whatever reason, you can also use a chair to get a similar effect.

Who should not do this pose?

There are some risks involved with this particular pose. You should avoid this pose or speak with your doctor first if you have been diagnosed with any of the following conditions:

  • Glaucoma
  • Kidney failure
  • Cirrhosis or Liver Failure
  • Congestive heart failure
  • High blood pressure

--

--

Tammy Weiker
New Writers Welcome

I enjoy writing, reading fiction, and spending time with the family.