exercise

Superman Exercise-3 rare Benefits You Need To Know

The benefit of this exercise is not just physical.

Aditya
New Writers Welcome

--

man posing as superman to exercise
image by pexels

I took on a 7-day challenge of practicing the Superman Pose.

This workout requires a padded mat, but the carpeted floor will also do the trick.

Lie face down on the floor with your legs straight touching and your arms outstretched in front of you.

Don’t worry if your arms aren’t completely straight, but reach out as far as possible.

Avoid putting unnecessary strain on your neck by looking forward.

Your body should look like a big capital A.

Hold this position for 5 seconds before returning to the starting position.

That’s 1 rep.

image showing how to do the required exercise
image: clip art library

Day (1)

Day one was when I discovered, to my dismay, my range of motion for a particular exercise.

It was difficult at first to raise my legs while keeping them straight.

My mind kept telling me this is stupid, nothing is going to happen.

I almost succumbed to the temptation to slightly bend my knees.

The voice in my head questioned my slackness.

“will superman be proud of you?” it asked

I verbally replied, “absolutely not“.

If I had given in to that temptation, like so many times in the past I would not be working on my hip flexors, lower back, and core.

I might as well be sleeping on the floor.

I hammered this thought into my mind.

I am just one workout away from a good mood’’.

I felt a lot of subtle sensations in my lower back after 4 mins and 30 reps.

Keep in mind ‘The first 2 days of this exercise are not going to be fulfilling.

I didn’t feel I was doing much because this exercise doesn’t involve any movement.

Days (2 and 3)

A repeat of day 1, the only improvement was my breathing was synchronized with my reps, and it didn’t have the irregularity of day 1.

but

my mind still kept its critical commentary on how things haven’t changed.

Still with me.

Day (4)

I noticed I had a little more willingness to complete the challenge of 30 days despite the usual mental resistance.

As I did my first 7 reps and was beginning my 8th, my dog came into my room and peed on me from the side, exercise over.

Can’t blame him, he is only 7 days old (always close the door to avoid distractions).

Day (5 )

I noticed a significant improvement on day 5 ( aha moment ).

My form had improved; by focusing more on my glutes, I was able to raise my legs a bit higher, and I could feel my shoulders and core working harder.

My arms were also straighter.

I jumped to my feet after finishing 30 reps.

I felt energized because I had practiced proper form.

Strangely this time my mind transformed from ‘being critical’ to

being a ‘willing participant’ in this exercise.

Show the mind by forcefully doing the unpleasant task properly until the resistance of the mind slowly fades and eventually the time comes

when the mind enjoys the process without hankering for the result.

Some people call it a ‘flow’ state.

I also experienced mental alertness which was not present in the previous 4 days ( that I cannot explain).

Days (6 and 7)

It didn’t matter to me anymore that I couldn’t get my arms too straight.

The aim is not to become a professional contortionist but to become better in body and mind.

My back was aching less and my posture was relatively good.

3 Benefits

1. As we age, our stomachs often lose muscle tone, leading to abdominal weakness.

By doing this exercise, you can strengthen your abdominal muscles and reduce the likelihood of developing chronic back problems later on in life.

2. The stretch improved my lung capacity by allowing me to breathe more deeply.

Breathing deeply has been proven to lower cortisol levels — a hormone that controls inflammation in the body and is also responsible for weight gain.

3. The 3rd advantage is a mental one, this exercise somehow made me more mindful and alert than any other exercises.

One example of this is I no longer forget where I put my keys or glasses.

Besides being quick and easy it also does not require any special equipment.

The most important plus side about this exercise is it works on a variety of muscles to improve your posture without exhausting you while simultaneously improving your mental health.

It’s a win-win.

Also, you don’t need to be in shape to do this exercise.

So what are you waiting for?

Begin your 7 days challenge now and comment below if you have any queries.

Before you go

Push the green button here so that every time I publish a story it gets delivered to your inbox.

Related article

--

--

Aditya
New Writers Welcome

I mostly write inspiring and psychology related articles... buy me a coffee https://ko-fi.com/aditya23