Sushi after Childbirth

A treat for becoming a mom

EH Hong
New Writers Welcome
2 min readNov 10, 2021

--

Image by Bruno Marques Designer from Pixabay

I love sushi. Most people would think it is weird to eat raw fish, but I cannot get enough of it. I was skeptical about it at first, but it was love at first bite when I first tried it. I felt a sense of euphoria. I felt like I was in a seafood Shangri-La. When I became pregnant with my first child, I knew that my favorite treat was a definite no-no. Luckily, it never consumed my thoughts during my pregnancy. However, passing by the Publix seafood section made me go weak in the knees. I thought to myself, “As soon as the baby comes out, I’m getting my sushi.”

After I gave birth, I was exhausted and overwhelmed that food was the least from my mind. A few days later, when my mind was not as groggy, I finally got my treat. My husband went out to buy us lunch, and I told him to purchase some sushi from Publix. As I opened that plastic box and started to eat my salmon roll, I was back in seafood Shangri-La. I needed that little reward for going through labor and delivery. For my second (and last) child, I had to go through withdrawal again. It was not as bad the second time around because I knew what to expect. I still desired sushi, but my knees did not go as weak as they did before. Looking at it just made me think that I would get this tasty treat after going through hard labor. Indeed, I went through a difficult labor and delivery the second time around. The baby was not cooperating so much. They had to put me in different positions so that she would come out. I almost thought I was going to need a C-Section. She did come out eventually, and I had a brand new bundle of joy. As happy as I was with the arrival of my new baby, I was hungry. However, I did not have to wait as long. About an hour or two later, my parents went to the hospital cafeteria and got me sushi.

As moms, we deserve a treat for caring for another life. Whether it is a mouthwatering treat, a massage, or just reading a book, it is a reward we earn no matter what life throws at us. Moms are machines that need maintenance and care. If not, we cannot function in daily life.

--

--

EH Hong
New Writers Welcome

Picture book writer, illustrator, mom, wife, crafter, nerd extraordinaire. I’m a wordy, nerdy, artsy mom.