The Boy Who Painted

Priest of Jagbua

kjumaišŸ„¶šŸ’œā˜”
New Writers Welcome
3 min readMar 8, 2023

--

Photo from Pexels by Rowlandzy

In the little land of the Benin kingdom, there lived a young lad whom everyone considered fair. He had beautiful eyes and puffy but precise lips. He had strong yet average-sized legs for a boy his age. He wore brown from the moment he was born till he passed dix-sept before he matured before he came of age.

Born with parents but having no one, he fends for himself in a manner he saw fit. At times he danced, washed, and babysit, and at times he just painted for the love of it.

Judging by everyoneā€™s house standard, you could tell who was who. A small village had him, and he, well, them. They lived peacefully till a time of turbulence came. From the place of the forbidden land came the Edo thieves.

I once told a chronicle to the Benin chief, Chief Iwinosa of Jagbua, but he wouldnā€™t listen.

Then the time came, and I was called; I, Beninā€™s most powerful priestess. Wasnā€™t I branded as a crazy witch, am I non-crazy now?
He looked at me with disgust and asked.

'Is it true?'

I looked at him dead straight. My wrists were sore from the ropes binding them. I held gazes that deserved my eyes to be plucked out. But nay, I didnā€™t abide by the rules.

'You mean the boy?'

'Where is he?'

'Howā€™d I know where your son is?'

He looks at me like I said something forbidden, an abomination.

'The whole world should know. You did the act with your maid. Iā€™m never wrong.'

I looked away.

He looks at me whilst he moves back and forth on the wooden chair on which he sits. "Did he think Iā€™d be affected by the things he attached to his ancient tree?"

'I, priestess of Jagbua, will now take my leave.'

I turn to face where my back once faced. I chanted some words, then I flew and disappeared into the chilly, misty air. Chief Iwinosa showed no expressions. It was a norm, and all knew it.

I get to a place of mine, more for the gods. I step in as I take off my shoes, passing through the door that leads there, the house of our forefathers. I take off the white shawl hanging over my head. I slowly remove the shackles I was bestowed upon around my wrists. I stop when I hear a sound. I had forgotten I had visitors or one. I go towards the sound and then came to my sight a little boy who fits the description of the boy who painted. The Edo thieves live up to their name.

My jaw made movements. I had to hide my joy. What has come to me was far beyond the punishment that might be bestowed on me if anyone hears of this crime. That I have stolen a boy. That I have used him for my deed. You couldnā€™t possibly blame me. And now, itā€™s time that I free myself from this position. Itā€™s time to get out there and see the world and not only the inside of the red mud hut where our forefathers once stood.

I take strides as long as a tape rule. I kneel so I could get a better view of the boyā€™s face. I give a forceful smile making my eyes bulge and making me seem dumb and confused. But I knew what I wanted. The boy shall here be sworn into thee.

I place my hand on his head to make him stare at me. I tell him what is needed of him. He screams. I slap. He shouts. I beat. And that was the end of the little one who painted. He shouldnā€™t have repainted this door. He shouldnā€™t have touched it. What can I say except that he was destined to be the next Benin priest? I kneel in accordance as he took his rise. No memory remained in him. What shall come out when Iwinosa finds this? Well, I shall have run from here, wonā€™t I? And I smile, cos smiling is the best charity.

--

--

kjumaišŸ„¶šŸ’œā˜”
New Writers Welcome

A Writer, Poet and Author. Much love. ā™„ļø Feel free to scroll through. Instagram-@kjumai9