The Creative Philosophy of Bob Ross: Mindset, Art, and Life

The Zen of Painting

Al Roman
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by British Library on Unsplash

Went I was a kid, I remember coming across the joy of painting multiple times. At that moment, it did not catch my eye at all. To me, he was just a guy with an afro painting on tv.

Over the years, my interest in art grew, and I learned more about creative people. Again, I came across the guy with an afro.

This time was different because now I could appreciate the art he was creating.

Once in a while, I pull one of his videos on youtube to watch him doing his thing. It is so relaxing and inspiring at the same time.

No, too long ago, I watched a documentary on Netflix about his life in which you get to see a glimpse of his life behind cameras and before his death.

While watching this, I learned a couple of lessons from his work and life, which now Im going to share with you.

Lesson 1: Embrace Mistakes

Mistakes are an essential part of the creative process. Instead of getting frustrated or discouraged when something doesn't turn out as planned, he encouraged his viewers to embrace mistakes and see them as opportunities to learn and grow.

His motto is, “We don’t make mistakes. We have happy…

--

--

Al Roman
New Writers Welcome

I write about topics that interest me. Currently, those topics are Stoicism, Self-Development and Copywriting. Learn more. 👇🏼 https://linktr.ee/Alroman