The Faeries that Save Me

A Poem.

Abbigale
New Writers Welcome
1 min readApr 18, 2022

--

Photo by veeterzy on Unsplash

Her eyes are weary
they beg for sleep
but words on the page
shout “please, stay awake!”

As they hear her soul weep
while she begs for heat,
the cold seeping into her bones.

So she falls between the binds
in hopes that someone might find her
and remind her what it is to
Be.

They come from strange worlds
and different times
striking a novel chord
on each line,
Why?

To save her from the wraiths
that lie in wait for the moments
where nothing can abate
the screaming in her mind
that no one can recognize.

They sail through the screen
dancing enticingly, beckoning
her to follow and weave through
the fabric of fantasy where
she feels like me again.

I am free.

And when I leave
the light is with me.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed my work, interact and leave a comment as I find my footing on this beautiful platform! :)

Love,
Abbigale

--

--

Abbigale
New Writers Welcome

I’m 22 years old, from a small town in SETX, and constantly lost between the pages of a book. I love to write but new to posting it to the world.