The Focus Should Be on Flexibility

The word count should not be the most crucial aspect

Vickey Maverick.
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Resume Genius on Unsplash

There are times I write posts that range from 150 to 200 words (one-minute reads). There are occasions when I stretch myself further and use 2,500 words or more (seven to 10-minute reads). However, on most occasions I make sure that I am able to express myself somewhere between 700 to 1,600 words (four to seven-minute reads).

The last option also happens to be my attention span. Most of the posts that I read on this platform are four minutes in the least, and seven minutes in the most. There are aberrations, of course, but they are few and far between. Besides, for that to happen a post has to be interesting enough to grab my attention span throughout.

If the writing is taut, I am not too concerned with the time factor or the word count. What matters more is the fact that the post has to be able to retain my interest. This is also something I keep in mind while I write (and edit). After completing the first draft, I assume the mantle of a reader, and then decide over the future course of action.

There are times when the first draft is good, and can be published with minimal corrections. There are times when the draft demands a few additions, points where there is a need to elaborate. Likewise, on occasions the first draft…

--

--

Vickey Maverick.
New Writers Welcome

Ditch the Niche: Focused on providing insightful narratives on diverse topics like culture, health, history, slice of life, sports, travel, work, and on writing