The Glassblower

What I mean when I say “back pain”…

Joelle Rochkind
New Writers Welcome
1 min readOct 29, 2022

--

Photo of glassblowing.
Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash.

while I slept
a glassblower carved out the muscles at the base of my spine–
tossed them into a furnace and pulled them out with a blowpipe,
spinning my obliques and lumbar into a gently glowing gob.

with a calibrated wrist
he tilted my molten muscles just right,
melting the gob back towards me in a snakelike swirl,
like the sun itself was dripping slowly to the Earth
forming a single extended spiral that faded from orange to yellow as it cooled.

when I stirred
he slid my muscles back in their pocket against the pelvis–
the giant gob of hardened muscle resting on a single spiral,
like an icicle expected to support snowpack.

of course it snapped.

casting shards of a star to plummet into tissue,
with the hardened heat of a thousand burning missiles,
which is what I felt upon waking.

--

--

Joelle Rochkind
New Writers Welcome

Winding words to try and understand the world a little more.