My Journey Within — that Life-Changing Moment in 2019

How my life changed when I for once followed my intuition.

Danielle van Boodegom
New Writers Welcome
4 min readJan 6, 2023

--

Me, at the Angkor Wat temple in Combodia
Me at the Angkor Wat temple in Cambodia

Do you know those life-changing moments? The ones where you decide that from now on you are gonna do things differently. I do. I had a few of those.

Like when I finished high school and decided I was no longer going to be a chubby & shy girl. Nope. New school, new me. Right then and there I decided I was going to lose weight over the summer and I was going to speak up. And I did it. I made the change.

But none of those moments were like this one, the one I’m talking about. No, this was different.

It wasn’t a resolution. It was a vision. A knowing. A feeling.

It was so clear, there was no doubt about it. This needed to happen.

It was intuition. It was a lifesaver, my lifesaver.

It was February 2019. It was a weekday and I was sitting at my desk at the office. I felt drained and was wondering how I would get through the day. This was not the first day that I felt like this, this feeling had been there for a while.

At that time, many stressful events had happened at work and in my private life too. Those times were over, they passed, and things had been solved. I thought things were going to get better. Yet I felt exhausted.

I was sitting at my desk, all alone in the office. Suddenly I saw a vision, so clear. I was sitting at a beautiful white sand beach, surrounded by palm trees. I felt instantly calm, relaxed, at peace. And I just knew what it meant.

I needed to get the hell away from here. If I really wanted to change my life, change my patterns, be happier, and make long-lasting improvements — I needed to get away from my natural habitat.

I think I connected the dots so easily because a lot of people in my environment were either going solo traveling or going away for a few months with their partners. I felt inspired, sparked and something inside me was set in motion.

The moment I knew that this is what needed to happen I started thinking about how I could create this. How could I afford this?

There were really just 3 options:

1. Rent out my apartment and use this money to travel around

2. Sell my apartment and use the profit to travel around

3. Work and travel

It didn’t take me long to choose, I did the math and thought about what mattered to me.

Freedom, time, rest.

That meant that options 1 and 3 were no options. I would still be attached and I would still have to “worry” about enough money coming in. That is not what I was aiming for.

So I made my choice, option two it was. Pretty bold move. But obvious to me.

I’ve been wanting to move for years but I had all those “excuses.” If I want to move, where do I want to move to? I need a bigger salary if I want to move. Tried to negotiate at my job, it didn’t work out. What job do I need to pick then? I was just thinking in circles & this was my way out!

People asked me, aren’t you sad that you have to sell your house? Honestly, not a bit. It was like a weight was lifted from my shoulders; I saw opportunities instead of the problems I was used to seeing.

So, this was the plan. I was going to sell my apartment and all my stuff in the summer of 2019 and I was going to travel on my own for about 6 months. I picked a date; the 12th of January 2020 was going to be the date that my solo traveling adventure would start.

This is what I wanted to figure out:

· Find out what I wanted to do with my life

· Find out what makes me happy & what matters to me

· More self-love

· Live more in the now

This one day, this one vision, this one choice set so much in motion for me. It was my lifesaver — my ticket out of suffering in life and my ticket to freedom, inner freedom.

It made me snap out of survival mode and brought me into a state of calmness, a state where I could finally start healing & growing.

Of course, that’s a whole journey.

To be continued…

Thank you for reading ❤

Follow me to find out more.

--

--

Danielle van Boodegom
New Writers Welcome

I write about my journey in life, and all it contains. It's really a win-win. It’s healing for me – and it can inspire you!