The Secret I Used to Get From the ‘Mushy Middle’ to ‘The End’

Unleashing the power of writing your ending first

S A Holmes
New Writers Welcome

--

Write without Fear. Edit without mercy.
Easier said than done. Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

So you want to be an author?

Find a free version of this article here.

Me, too.

Have you felt the pain of getting that first draft onto the page? The words… so many words.

But … I just typed THE END on my current work in progress. What a feeling!

Celebrating finishing writing a novel with balloons.
I’m so excited. I just can’t hide it. Photo by Patti Black on Unsplash

I want to celebrate: dance, cry, sing, drink. All the things.

But I’ll refrain. Many of you are likely in the same position I was two months ago. I feel your pain, your frustration, and your almost irresistible desire to throw your laptop out the window of a moving car … and in front of a train.

A train waiting to destroy the laptop of an author with writer’s block.
Stupid laptop. Photo by Michael Denning on Unsplash

I had the inciting incident early, the love interest (including the spicy (first time, just saying)) drafted, even the climax in my head. But I had the hardest time getting the story from there to the ending. I knew…

--

--

S A Holmes
New Writers Welcome

Lover of stories. Fantasy and Science Fiction Writer. Attorney. Husband and Dad. The foregoing list is not in order of importance. :) Find me at S-A-Holmes.com