SHORT STORY

The Tree Mouse - Wild Ride

A parable of the Forest

Michael Holford
New Writers Welcome
12 min readMar 28, 2022

--

Photo by Ilnur Kalimullin on Unsplash

THE PROPOSITION

Thomas tree mouse was clinging with all his strength to the rugged bark of the tree, feeling his grip loosen and he knew he was about to fall again. Achilles came up behind him and startled him.

“Can I help you?”

He didn’t quite know how to react, because squirrels never talk to tree mice.

“Can I help you?” Achilles repeated.

“You want to help me?”

“I see you’re having a problem here.”

“I’m OK,” he sputtered, barely able to hold himself on the bark.

“You’re about to take a nasty fall. I'll catch you and we can talk about it.”

“I can’t hold on anymore.” Thomas finally slipped off and the squirrel caught him and pushed him to a place where he could sit.

“I want to help you learn how to climb a tree.”

“And why would you a squirrel do that for me?”

“Because I find in my heart that I must. Like the birds of the air must feel the wind through their feathers, or the Bear as he runs must feel the soft earth…

--

--