The Ultimate Mommy Mindset

Productivity & Positivity Hacks from a Lawyer Mom

Amy Barlowe
New Writers Welcome
3 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

Photo by Thiago Cerqueira on Unsplash

Imagine juggling a courtroom, a kitchen, and a carousel of kids’ activities, all with a smile. That’s my circus and my monkeys. I’m Amy Barlowe, a 42-year-old lawyer mom, turned productivity guru and mindset maestro. With three dynamo kids and a powerhouse husband in Dallas, my life is a blend of briefs, breakfasts, and bedtime stories. Here’s how I keep the show dazzling, not dizzying.

1. Morning Magic: Win Your Day Before Breakfast

My secret? Embrace the dawn. While Dallas sleeps, I rise at 5 AM. It’s me, my coffee, and silence — a trio of bliss. This hour is sacred. I plan, ponder, or simply breathe. It’s not just about tasks; it’s about setting the tone. Try it. Your day will thank you.

2. The Power of ‘No’

Lesson learned in the courtroom and the living room: “no” is a complete sentence. When asked to chair yet another fundraiser, I channel my inner lawyer. “No, thank you.” It’s about safeguarding your sanity. Remember, every ‘yes’ to others can mean a ‘no’ to family time or self-care. Choose wisely.

3. Batching: A Mom’s Best Friend

Batching is like meal prep for life. Groceries on Tuesdays, laundry on Thursdays. Suddenly, the week sorts itself out. Cassie’s gymnastics, Darla’s doll playdates, and George’s train setups fit neatly between. This method is a sanity saver. Give it a whirl!

Photo by Thomas Bormans on Unsplash

4. Tech to the Rescue

Who said apps are just for kids? Not this lawyer. From organizing meal plans to squeezing in a quick meditation, technology is my sidekick. It’s about working smarter, not harder. Automate the mundane, and voilà, more time for what truly matters.

5. The 15-Minute Blitz

Messy house? Overwhelming, right? Here’s my hack: the 15-minute blitz. Choose a corner, set a timer, and go! It’s astonishing what you can achieve. Plus, watching Cassie, Darla, and George join in, thinking it’s a game, is priceless. Cleanup becomes fun, and surprisingly, a great workout!

6. Learning to Let Go

Perfection is the enemy of good. Cereal for dinner? Happens. A missed email? Forgive yourself. Life, especially with kids, is beautifully unpredictable. Embrace the chaos. Whether it’s George’s train tracks taking over the living room or Darla’s nursing aspirations involving all her dolls, it’s all part of the adventure. Laugh more. Stress less.

Balancing a career, motherhood, and personal growth is an art. It’s about finding joy in the juggle, cherishing the chaos, and sometimes, just surviving on coffee and cuddles. With these hacks, I navigate the whirlwind of life in Dallas, alongside my husband Bill and our spirited squad, Cassie, Darla, and George. Remember, in the circus of life, being the ringmaster is the best role. Enjoy the show!

--

--

Amy Barlowe
New Writers Welcome

Joyful mom of three, loving wife, productivity guru, and mindset writer. Embracing life's adventures!