The ‘Wanting More’ Society

Finding peace through minimalism and essentialism

Nils Neuman
New Writers Welcome
2 min readMay 3, 2024

--

Photo by Brandon Romanchuk on Unsplash

“I have to remove my iPhone case even though it’s safer and more comfortable with it.”, “My AirPods don’t have noise cancellation, so I feel compelled to buy the new ones, even though my current pair works just fine.”, “I have a smart TV, but I’m tempted to get an Apple TV streamer.”

These are my current thoughts as I started working recently and have the money to allow these things. I feel this immense need to get these things, I feel my life is boring and I want the adrenalin of buying or feeling the naked iPhone on my hands showing off its beautiful color and design.

I want more! But I have it all. I am in a great relationship, I have a wonderful family and good friends. I have found a job that challenges me and interests me, I have a place to sleep and I am healthy. Spring is out and there are many beautiful flowers around me walking in my neighborhood, my plants are thriving and the weather is amazing. But I want more.

Then why don’t I feel complete? What is it that keeps me from feeling satisfied?

I think it may be related to our place in society, instead of establishing our own standards, we are constantly targeted by large corporations and by our already influenced people around us. To be ‘someone,’ we must acquire ‘something.’ If you feel something is missing, perhaps the next product will be the solution.

I am calling for a change. I am calling for making up our own standards and fighting the immense forces who try to find solutions for problems we don’t have. I am calling for self-reflection and evaluation of your needs and of your current life in comparison to what you would like to achieve.

Have this text as a reminder to be happy with what you have, to explore what you really need and I think we will find that we have it all already.

--

--

Nils Neuman
New Writers Welcome

Hi there! I'm Nils. I like to think about life and write about it. Come along with me as we explore life's big questions and discover new things together!