Health & Fitness

5 Things Your Hair Is Telling You About Your Health

Of course, we never wish to have a bad hair day

Shaqib Akram
New Writers Welcome

--

I’m the guy who loves long hair and curls. For reference, look at my picturesque hair. (All messy)

Shaqib Akram is just sunbathing his hair.
Just exposing my hair to the sun. Photo by Shaqib Akram

Yet I believe having long hair isn’t always as cool as it looks. Why? Because it got me into depression. Yep, sighting broken hair strands in the comb, on the shoulder, whenever I ran my fingers through my hair — I got depressed. I was literally stressed too much about it.

And this depression inside of me poked me to research different hair health conditions. So I’ve come up with some results, and I thought, why not make you aware too?

Believe it or not, every change in hair has a different story. From looks to texture and thickness, it all can be a sign of fundamental health conditions.

Sometimes we all reluctantly reach that point of life where we have to experience hair problems — And it could be a consequence of stress & genetics, skin problems, thyroid disease, insufficient iron or protein diet, exposure to UV rays, and many other reasons. And, you never wish to have a bad hair day. Right?

So, here I’m detailing five things your hair is telling you about your health.

Stress Can Lead Your Hair To Premature Graying

Going gray is a regular part of aging, but intense stress plays a vital role not only in premature graying but also in hair loss & other hair issues.

According to a study issued in Nature Medicine, too much stress usually damages the pigment processing cells, which causes hair to turn gray or white.

Consumption of food peculiarly rich in vitamin B12 and involving yourself in activities that are helpful in de-stressing are proven successful ways to fight and stop those grays.

Thyroid Disease Can Be A Cause Of Hair Thinning

Whenever you notice your thick tresses locks are thinning, head to the doctor straightaway for a blood test to check your thyroid levels.

As stated in the International Journal of Trichology, endocrine disorders like hyperthyroidism, hypothyroidism, and parathyroid disorders can be a reason for the change in hair aspect and increased hair shedding.

Aside from thinning hair, hypothyroidism can also cause tiredness, joint and muscle pain, cold sensitivity, and weight gain.

A (TSH) thyroid-stimulating hormone test can diagnose hypothyroidism condition. But the treatment requires proper thyroid medication.

Protein And Iron Deficiency Increases Hair Loss

Proper nutrition is essential for healthy hair and its growth. Lacking the required protein and iron in the body increases nutritional deficiency, which causes weakness, thinning of tresses, and hair loss.

You could probably be low on a nutritional diet if you see more hair on your brush than usual or feel your hair growth is slow.

Consider changing your diet with two or three servings of iron and protein-rich foods like — eggs, chicken breast, grass-fed beef, yogurt, spinach, and avocado.

But not to forget, as it is a slow process and could take a few months before you see the progress.

Exposing Too Much To The Sun Can Weaken And Damage Your Hair

You know, the reality is people are only aware that UV rays are harmful to the skin. Ever wondered if over-exposure to UV rays can majorly dry and damage your hair? If you have brittle, dry hair and it breaks simply. Consider how much time you are spending directly in the sun.

According to Wilma Bergfeld, MD, at the Cleveland Clinic, UVA and UVB rays harm the outer cover of the tresses known as the cuticle.

Try using sun-protective fabricated caps or other items having an Ultraviolet Protection Factor of 30 whenever going outside.

Certain Skin Problems Might Result In Dandruff

Skin conditions like Scalp psoriasis and Seborrheic dermatitis usually occur in infants but can affect adults too, it can make your scalp crusty, flaky, and oily patches of yellow-white scales on it, and this could be a reason for dandruff.

Still, this problem is easily treatable with the proper use of medicated shampoos, lotions, or creams consulted by a dermatologist.

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

After all these things in my mind, I decided to visit the doctor, and the doc took good care of my hair.

Just to let you know, my bad hair health condition was because of too much exposure to the sun and some uneasiness I had in the past months.

I don’t know what it was. But it was something that screwed my health. Nevertheless, I’m happy now that my hair has started to be healthy and shiny as it always was.

Have a good hair day, folks!

Mentioning here some of my favorite writers I love to read; Mark Armstrong, Linda Ng, Bill Abbate, and Dr. Preeti Singh.

I hope this article helps you understand different hair health conditions and how to take care of them. And you can follow me here to read more of my work. Plus, don’t forget to show your love & support by buying me a chai.

--

--

Shaqib Akram
New Writers Welcome

Digital Marketer | Freelance Writer | Stripe doesn't want me to become rich | Thence show your support through https://www.buymeacoffee.com/ShaqibAkram